Egg and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Did not use mozzarella cheese and did add a small amount of milk. Also added some frozen hash browns and cooked an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Pre-bake the crescents for 6-7mins @ 350, then add everything else. We did spicy breakfast sausage, green chiles and green onions. We didn't add any milk to the eggs, and it was very dense. Next time, we'll add milk and maybe even cottage cheese to the egg whip to get it "fluffier". And as many have said, you def don't need 4 cups of cheese. We used some pepper jack and a 2% mexi blend, and used a little less than 2 c total. Next time I'd do the full 2 cups. Baked it, uncovered, at 350 for about 40 mins. Mmm Mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I used the "most helpful" review and made the low fat version (for 196 calories a serving!). Even my picky 2 year old asked for seconds! I used ingredients I ha on hand. Reduced fat crescent rolls, turkey sausage, egg beater equivalent of 6 eggs, 4 Danish eggs, 3/4 cup fat free half and half, sprinkled 1 oz of 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese on top of sausage, 1/2 cup 2% cheddar in egg mixture and 1 cup full fat cheddar on top (all I had). I imagine you could reduce the fat and calories by using all 2% cheese. This was fantastic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Definitely read the advice of other reviewers before making this dish. There are enough changes in order to make this successful that it almost becomes a totally different recipe! I was excited to try w/crescent roll dough and was initially surprised that the recipe didn't require cooking the dough a bit before pouring over the sausage and then the egg mixture. Also surprised at the amount of cheese and the low cook time and temp. My thoughts were confirmed when the dough ended up floating above most of the egg mixture and we had a whole layer of raw dough near the top. I almost doubled the cook time, increased to 350/375...put in 25% more eggs, 25% less cheese and adding some half/half. No offense to the recipe author, but this should really be rewritten as to not mislead people. So glad this was just for my immediate family and not for an event so I have time to adjust before I try it again. Many other brunch recipes that are far better...but it was an interesting experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I am reviewing this actual recipe, not adding milk and eggs then reviewing this recipe. The recipe is good as is. It is done in 30 minutes, doesn't need milk or 2 extra eggs. Here is what people are doing wrong in this recipe 1. They are over baking it. Cook it 30 minutes, pull it out and let it set. 2. They are using pre shredded cheese. You need to shred the cheese off the block. Two full blocks. 3. They have thier ovens too hot. 4. They are complaining about the flavor. Its eggs, cheese and sausage. That is what it tastes like. 5. They are flat out ignoring the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ysabel
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
As others stated, I also modified the ingredients and used 10 eggs, milk, and 1 T pepper to the eggs. It was a hit with the group at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed other reviewers and used 1C mozzarella and 1C cheddar, 10 eggs and I used a full tsp Italian seasoning. I pre baked the crescent rolls for 6 minutes. This recipie is outstanding! I've tried many egg bakes... The worst being a crock pot version. This is definately my go-to. Only change I would make is to sprinkle cheese over sausage stead of mixing it with eggs and pouring it over. Cheese will be more evenly spread that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is my go-to egg casserole! It comes out great every time and it's very easy to interchange ingredients with whatever you want. I've made it with sausage and also with bacon and both were a huge hit! Initially, I was a little leery about the oregano but that is what I think really makes this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Quick, tasty, and kid-friendly! I also cooked the dough first for a little bit and added 2 more eggs. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made this today. I used hot pork sausage. I also added a few more eggs, because that is a lot of cheese. So, either add a few more eggs or don't put as much cheese. It turned out very tasty and the hot sausage gave it a little kick. I will definitely make this again. It makes a lot, so now we have breakfast for the next 3-4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States