Egg and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Can I make this the night before and bake it in the morning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally in NH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Used 10 eggs, Italian seasoning, and 3/4 cup milk. Also used 1 cup cheddar, 1 cup mozzarella, 1/2 lb turkey sausage and 1/2 cup pork sausage. Baked crescent roll x 6 min at 350, then casserole x25min at 350, then 10 min at 325. Slightly burnt, next time will bake 25-30min at 350 after baking crescent roll x 6min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe. My husband told me to throw out my quiche recipes and just use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
So easy! Used 10 eggs, 1/2 c. Milk, and turkey breakfast sausage. Rave reviews from our overnight guests, too! Will definitely add to my breakfast rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breckan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Ok lots of changes based on what I had. I only had biscuits so I used about 3, flattened, to cover the bottom. Did as others suggested and precooked for about 7 minutes. Used over 1 lb of breakfast sausage because that's what I had so decided to use all up. Only had 8 eggs so used that though would have used 10 if I had enough. Did as others suggested and only used 2 cups of cheese. Had some diced onions and green peppers (from freezer) that I defrosted and threw in. This came out SO GOOD! It's simple enough that you can jazz it up but solid base recipe (with cheese adjustment). I make breakfast casseroles all the time and my daughter likes some more than others. She LOVES this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Did not use mozzarella cheese and did add a small amount of milk. Also added some frozen hash browns and cooked an extra 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Pre-bake the crescents for 6-7mins @ 350, then add everything else. We did spicy breakfast sausage, green chiles and green onions. We didn't add any milk to the eggs, and it was very dense. Next time, we'll add milk and maybe even cottage cheese to the egg whip to get it "fluffier". And as many have said, you def don't need 4 cups of cheese. We used some pepper jack and a 2% mexi blend, and used a little less than 2 c total. Next time I'd do the full 2 cups. Baked it, uncovered, at 350 for about 40 mins. Mmm Mm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I used the "most helpful" review and made the low fat version (for 196 calories a serving!). Even my picky 2 year old asked for seconds! I used ingredients I ha on hand. Reduced fat crescent rolls, turkey sausage, egg beater equivalent of 6 eggs, 4 Danish eggs, 3/4 cup fat free half and half, sprinkled 1 oz of 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese on top of sausage, 1/2 cup 2% cheddar in egg mixture and 1 cup full fat cheddar on top (all I had). I imagine you could reduce the fat and calories by using all 2% cheese. This was fantastic. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Definitely read the advice of other reviewers before making this dish. There are enough changes in order to make this successful that it almost becomes a totally different recipe! I was excited to try w/crescent roll dough and was initially surprised that the recipe didn't require cooking the dough a bit before pouring over the sausage and then the egg mixture. Also surprised at the amount of cheese and the low cook time and temp. My thoughts were confirmed when the dough ended up floating above most of the egg mixture and we had a whole layer of raw dough near the top. I almost doubled the cook time, increased to 350/375...put in 25% more eggs, 25% less cheese and adding some half/half. No offense to the recipe author, but this should really be rewritten as to not mislead people. So glad this was just for my immediate family and not for an event so I have time to adjust before I try it again. Many other brunch recipes that are far better...but it was an interesting experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I am reviewing this actual recipe, not adding milk and eggs then reviewing this recipe. The recipe is good as is. It is done in 30 minutes, doesn't need milk or 2 extra eggs. Here is what people are doing wrong in this recipe 1. They are over baking it. Cook it 30 minutes, pull it out and let it set. 2. They are using pre shredded cheese. You need to shred the cheese off the block. Two full blocks. 3. They have thier ovens too hot. 4. They are complaining about the flavor. Its eggs, cheese and sausage. That is what it tastes like. 5. They are flat out ignoring the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States