Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was just okay for me - kind of dry and bland, even though I added a bit of sour cream, black pepper and used the southwestern style has browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I think I found the solution to anyone that thinks the hash brown bottom is too plain. I found and used the Ore Ida's cubed hash browns with green and red pepper in them. I fried these up beforehand with the green onions. Used Lawry's as well and really this gave the bottom a nice taste. It was a bit salty but nothing overly done. Good recipe, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
We made this last weekend with a few modifications and other reviewers' suggestions. I browned the hash browns in some butter with the green onions, fresh garlic and cut-up bacon. I put this in the bottom of the pan and poured the egg mixture on top (added some Lawry's Seasoned Salt to the egg mixture, too). I also used Kraft Mexican cheese with peppers in place of the cheddar. It was fantastic - got rave reviews from my family - even the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I loved this but best of all the kids loved this! I added a couple extra eggs, a little more milk and few more slices of bacon and made a 9X13 dish. I will try it next with sausage or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was good and simple. I made a few changes I mixed the cheese in with the hash browns and I added a few drops of Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I love this recipe. I used more bacon and a little more cheese than called for. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This was great with my alterations taken from other reviewers. I sauteed the hashbrowns with the white of the green onion, fresh garlic, seasoned salt, salt, pepper and butter and put in the bottom of the pan. I used ham AND bacon and some dry mustard in with the egg, green onion and cheese mixture. Looked beautiful and tasted great - lots of flavor!! Made it this morning for Father's Day and my husband and children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHITNEYB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
It was a bland letdown. The potatoes need more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Great! I put the hasbrowns on the bottom of the dish and poured everything else on top. I also added half a white onion to the hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was popular as well at my brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States