Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My family loved this - especially my daughter who normally does not like "mixed" food. I modified it by cutting up the bacon in the frying pan with half an white onion chopped. I took out the onion and bacon but left in the grease and added a little more oil, browning the shredded hash browns until golden outside. I added about 8 slices of deli ham to the bowl and mixed together the onion, meats and browned potatoes, adding dried parsley and S&P. I also added dry mustard and about five shots of hot sauce to the egg mixture. I spread the potato/meat mixture in a greased casserole dish, spread cheese over this and then poured the egg mix over all. Baked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees then turned off heat and left it in for another 5 minutes so it would stay tender. I put the little bit of leftovers in the fridge to heat for one more before-school breakfast. I also think this would work for the leftovers to be chopped up and heated, put in warm tortillas and topped with salsa and some more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Pretty good. I used a bag of Southwestern hashbrown & fried with the onions. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Very good. I fried up the hash browns and green onions a little bit in a cast iron pan, added some black pepper, then poured the egg and cheese mixture on top. I used Parmesan and Emmentaller cheese, then sprinkled a little colby-jack and 3 slices of cooked bacon on top. Cooked in same pan in the oven about 15 minutes. Very good. A little bland, but that's how my kids and husband like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was pretty good, tasted like an omelette, but was very easy to prepare for a crowd. I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
My family though it was okay, no one ate the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I tried flavoring it up more with onion and garlic powder but apparently not enough. I will use more spices next time. Also I will try cooking the potatoes first. They seemed a tad underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was okay, not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
This was some good stuff, LOL! I followed the recipe and we all really did enjoy it! I'll be fixing this one many more times! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
my husband LOVED this!! I'm getting ready to try it with ham now! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe is very good & easy to make. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is just too bland. I will definitely make it again but will use part swiss cheese & part cheddar, & add some bell pepper, & maybe a little something to give it some "kick". It is though, an excellent basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States