Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made this last weekend for a charity event at our local homeless shelter. I substituted the bacon for ham and nearly doubled the amount called for. I also nearly doubled the eggs (per other reviews). I used regular onions verses green onions and lastly used a mexican blend of cheeses. I didn't get to try any but was told it turned out well and tasted good (my husband got a small piece to try when serving was done). I think I'll make it for my guys sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This was truly a desperation dinner for me, as I realized I did not have 2 of the 6 ingredients! I subbed cottage cheese and a little water for the milk, and dried minced onion for the green onion. It still turned out great! I read the reviews ahead of time and added salt and pepper. I also didn't have a 7x11 pan so I used a 9x13 and baked for about 35 minutes. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This has become one of our favorites. Also good with browned sausage instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Even though my boyfriend really like this recipe, I felt that it was boring. The ratio of potatoes to egg should be reverse and salt and pepper would help out huge. I felt like I was eating a baked potato. I see everyone tweeking it. If I ever make this again, I will do that as well. Not a favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
What a great base recipe! It really does taste like what you add, I've made this several times and get raves from everyone who tries it and recipe requests. I cook the bacon, then brown the hash browns in the bacon grease-that makes a huge difference. I use southwest style hash browns and that helps the flavor as well. I mix the bacon, onions and cheese in with the eggs, add salt and pepper and whatever other spices I feel like, and use the hash browns as a crust. There's never a single bite left and everyone loves it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was very tasty. I used Cabot Hunters Sharp cheddar cheese which added a nice bite. I didn't have green onions so used minced yellow onions. It was a great way to use up a small amount of bacon that wasn't enough to serve my whole family. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen O'Donnell Porter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Corinth, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My family has been enjoying this for breakfast since I found it. They love it! My husband adds a little picate sauce to his for a kick . Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made exactly as written, was excellent! Would be great to add green chilies or mushrooms/sausage. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was great! So simple - great for company. I didn't have enough cheddar, so I used half cheddar and half PEPPER JACK cheese....wow, the peppers added a nice little kick to it! Will use this recipe again, and again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
It was pretty good. I would have probably done less green onions though. A little too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States