Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
I didn't have enough hash browns so I used one cup chopped yukon gold potatoes with 2 cups frozen hash browns (which I kept frozen). That worked surprisingly well. I also didn't have green onions so I used chives. Like other reviewers, I also think that this needs something else ... maybe red bell pepper. It reheats nicely so I was able to have a quick breakfast the next morning, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
This was ok, I am going to adjust the recipe and try again. I will use about 1/2 the potatoes and more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
I liked this! I did shred my own potatoes instead of using frozen hashbrowns. Next time I might brown the potatoes a little before adding them. I had a few raw ones, but that was my own fault for not using the frozen. Made this for dinner last night. Was in a pinch. Even with shredding my own potatoes, this is easy, quick, and very good. Thanks for sharing this with us, Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This recipe is quick and easy to make, but we didn't care for it. It was too bland and my husband complained that all he could taste were the hash browns. I might try this again with the addition of sour cream as previously recommended as well as extra seasoning such as salt, pepper and Mrs. Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Didn't have bacon or hashbrowns, so I substituted 1/2 lb deer sausage and 3 cups of tater tots. I also used Velveeta cheese since I didn't have any shredded cheese. It turned out AWESOME! Had a wonderful flavor to it. It's now on our monthly meal rotation for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Caledonia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This recipe was o.k. but I did not see it has the best. Try some of the others before rating this one. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this for Christmas morning and got so-so reviews. We both felt it was a bit dry, like it needed sour cream or something to make it more creamy. The concept of hash browns, eggs, and bacon mixed together is perfect - - this recipe just needs a few more ingredients to make it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Made this for the family this weekend as test for the Xmas company thats coming. They all liked it even the picky eating 3 yr old. It's on the menu for Holiday Breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roosevelt, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This was really good. I didn't use the bacon and I used reduced fat cheese to make this dish a little lighter. I did however take the advice of another reviewer and add some sour cream. Still was an excellent dish and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This is an absolute wonderful recipe. I added well-drained frozen spinach, and frozen chopped broccoli that I thawed in hot water and patted dry. Because of the additional vegetables I added two more eggs and little more milk and it was perfect. I took it to a brunch and people walked up and said how great it was and asked for the recipe. This is a real keeper and thank you for sharing, Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States