Egg and Hash Brown Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great basic recipe that you can make your own. It definitely needs some spices. I will probably try adding seasoned salt and/or dry mustard next time. I made mine with chopped green pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, green onion, pre-cooked bacon, and chicken sausage. I used sharp white and sharp yellow cheddar for the cheese. Sprinkled some hot sauce on it when I ate it and it was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Miller
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Delicious. Added one extra egg, salt and pepper, and baked for an extra 20 minutes until it was set. Sliced and served at a family brunch. My guests loved it, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is a really good breakfast casserole. As others suggested, I added several different spices to the egg mixture (chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper) which I really think adds to the overall flavor. I use fresh chopped potatoes rather than frozen, and have done it with both russet and red, both equally as good. I usually season and cook the potatoes on the skillet for a few minutes first, then layer them at the bottom of the dish, per the directions. I also use turkey bacon and add chopped turkey sausage in the mixture too to make it even heartier. It has turned out great every time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phillipM
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Made this with a little twist. Turned out great. Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
it was just okay. adding bell peppers, sausage, or ham might add more flavor. if your looking for something simple and filling then this recipes for you! UPDATE Hash browns pan fried first works better as a bottom layer for a crust. just fry hash browns in bacon drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
The hashbrowns were too spongy. Maybe it needed to be cooked longer or the hashbrowns cooked before mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe was a big hit with the family! Few changes, more eggs, more bacon and half pepperjack cheese. Serve with salsa. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made a some changes to the recipe by adding chopped Spanish onion and chopped green pepper, I added another egg as well as more cheese and hash browns. I also cooked the casserole until the bottom of my dish was slightly browned, this added another 15 minutes to the original recipe cook time. I will make this again, can't wait to try sausage or ham with this recipe. This definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This tasted really good! Just remember to mix in a few shakes of salt and pepper. Instead of bacon, I used about 1/3 lb. cooked lean sausage, so maybe with bacon you may not need as much salt. I also diced up about 1/2 c. total of red and orange peppers and mixed those in. Used 6 extra large eggs, and can't imagine using less because it was more potatoey than eggy! I didn't thaw my hashbrowns first so it took about an hour to cook, but it was worth the wait! We had it for dinner and I think I'll put it on my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Try it one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States