Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
These are fantastic. I made a few modifications. -substituted breakfast sausage for the bacon -sauteed onion and green pepper with the sausage -used 22oz cottage cheese instead of 16 (i didn't realize the container was that big!) -added a little extra flour to compensate for the extra cottage cheese -added salt and pepper to taste -omitted the butter, there was plenty of grease left from the sausage -poured it all in a 9x13 pan and baked for close to 40 minutes. Pulled it out when the bottom was turning brown and a fork came out clean from the middle -I cut it into squares and will freeze whatever isn't eaten before it cools!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
To lighten it a bit, I used 10 egg whites and 5 whole eggs; 8 ozs of cheese is enough for our taste; and I skip the butter and shalt. I like the idea of muffin cups, but eggs will stick to the tin and muffin liners. So I placed slices of ham in the muffin cups and pour the egg mixture inside. (And I skipped the bacon this time.) Worked like a charm! Next time I will try making hash brown muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Taste is but with recipe modifications...hence 4 stars. Half the cheese is sufficient and butter isn't needed at all. Muffin cups, as suggested by reviewer,...horrible idea. They stuck terribly. Will be greasing muffin tin next time. Also...I didn't get much "puffing" effect. Not sure if that's on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
So good and easy. I put in chicken instead of bacon, and had them for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
It was good. I made it exactly as listed but I did bake it in a 9x13 pan. I was disappointed in how much the chiles overwhelmed the taste of the bacon and cheese. I will make it again but will try it with sausage or leave out the chiles and use the bacon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
FANTASTIC!! So incredible yummy! Made it according to recipe and everyone loved it. I read previous reviews that said it was too much cheese, I didn't find that true at all. Only thing I will do differently is use aluminum baking cups to keep muffin pan cleanup a bit easier. This will become a staple in our low-carb household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Love them! I didn't have any Monterey Jack cheese but I had some mozzarella and some Colby/jack cheese so I used that. I had 3 dozen fresh eggs from my chickens and wanted to use up quick. It's almost like quiche without the crust and will make some great high protein breakfasts for my husband all week. Making some English Muffin bread to go with it now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Manuszak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
As per reviews, used 1/4 cup butter, only 2 cups(8oz) of cheese, and low fat cottage cheese. Used diced tomatoes and green chilis can since i could not find only green chilis. Used 1 tsp of cornstarch, because I did not having baking soda. Used cooked ham steaks (I diced them) as I prefer ham over bacon. I only had 12 muffin cups, and I used to the diced tmt and sprinkled on top of each muffin. The remaining mix and "salsa" I put in a smaller metal pan and baked at the same time. I LIKE both the muffins and the scrambled eggs but I like the flavoring of the "salsa" mixed in the egg much more. Would make again in a casserole dish. And stir in the end to make salsa scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I prepared this for Christmas Day breakfast and it was a hit. I did not prepare and refrigerate overnight and it was just fine, although next time I will know that I have that option! I am also going to reduce the butter as some readers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States