Edie's Patatosalata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a good jumping off recipe, but the necessary change is boiling the potatoes already cubed so that the dressing can be added while the potatoes are still hot. Adding an oil-based dressing to cold potatoes just doesn't work. My tweaked recipe is 1/3 cup olive oil & 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar to about 2 lbs of potatoes. My husband likes me to add a tsp of sugar, but I prefer it without sugar. I also add chopped celery, scallions, and a clove of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2001
A little oily. I'll cut the olive oil back to 1/3 cup next time. Great with lightly steamed green beans added to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Very good - a little oily - I added extra potatoes. Wonder if the recipe should be 5 lbs potatoes and not just 5 potatoes since red potatoes are usually small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2000
This salad had great flavour but I found it a little too oily. Would cut down on the oil a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This salad was good, but I had to use 6 large red potatoes, only half an onion, because it had too much onion for us, and I used an extra tablespoon vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This was OK. After reading the reviews I cut the oil in half, added some garlic salt and garlic pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Oh yes, just what I was looking for. Very simple and ingredients that combine well for a satisfying meal or side-dish. I've served this to many at home and for parties. Leaving the skins on is a good idea too. This dish reminds me of the Greek version of potato salad I had as a kid. It can be eaten warmed up or straigth from the fridge. It keeps well and also a good way to cook up potatoes you haven't used up that may go bad if you don't DO SOMETHING soon with 'em. Thanks. "Edie" is a household name around our place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I used 1 pound of small red potatoes and I could have used 1 1/2 pounds for the amount of oil. Also, the olive oil was too strong a taste and I used olive oil meant for salads. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This tasted like cold potatoes soaked in olive oil....not something we really enjoyed here. We each took one bite and trashed the rest. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
What a nice change from a creamy potato salad. I used regular potatoes and left the skin on. It was nice and tangy with a little zip and antyhing with red onion is good in my books. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States