Edie's Patatosalata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Very good! We served this with dinner last night and everyone loved it. I used cilantro instead of parsley since I had it on hand. Also lowered the oil based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I LOVE this salad. The oregano is absolutely wonderful in it. The only slight changes I made, were I used a tsp of dried minced onion for the onion flavor, because no one in my family likes pieces of raw onion in anything. Also, I cut down on the oil a little. And lastly, I sliced the potatoes (skin on) before cooking and added the dressing when they were still slightly warm. After an hour in the fridge (we couldn't wait any longer!!) it was absolutely perfect. It might be even better the next day but ours didn't last that long! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Not as much oil; cut out the onions. Could add green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I used Mrs. BB's suggestions and cubed the potatoes before cooking. I also used the oil/vinegar combo she suggested and added the celery, scallions, and garlic. I used fresh oregano and parsley and my entire family enjoyed this potato salad that was light and fresh and not like typical mayonnaise based potato salads. If I didn't make the changes based on suggestions, it would have definitely been a 5 star recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a good jumping off recipe, but the necessary change is boiling the potatoes already cubed so that the dressing can be added while the potatoes are still hot. Adding an oil-based dressing to cold potatoes just doesn't work. My tweaked recipe is 1/3 cup olive oil & 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar to about 2 lbs of potatoes. My husband likes me to add a tsp of sugar, but I prefer it without sugar. I also add chopped celery, scallions, and a clove of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was a good start. I roasted my potatoes rather than boiling them. I also roasted the onions at that time. When I mmixed the salad I used fresh oregano rather than dried and added some roasted ret pepper strips. Today I had the left overs that I heated up and felt it was much better warm than cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This tasted like cold potatoes soaked in olive oil....not something we really enjoyed here. We each took one bite and trashed the rest. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
This was OK. After reading the reviews I cut the oil in half, added some garlic salt and garlic pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
What a nice change from a creamy potato salad. I used regular potatoes and left the skin on. It was nice and tangy with a little zip and antyhing with red onion is good in my books. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
Oh yes, just what I was looking for. Very simple and ingredients that combine well for a satisfying meal or side-dish. I've served this to many at home and for parties. Leaving the skins on is a good idea too. This dish reminds me of the Greek version of potato salad I had as a kid. It can be eaten warmed up or straigth from the fridge. It keeps well and also a good way to cook up potatoes you haven't used up that may go bad if you don't DO SOMETHING soon with 'em. Thanks. "Edie" is a household name around our place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States