Edible Spiders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
My kids enjoyed making these...and eating them too. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Meh...it was okay. My kids think these are pretty neat to look but not super delicious. I found this to be very messy and extremely time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sogood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I didn't really make these to eat, I wanted something fun to do with kids. The picture looked so cute but mine didn't turn out anything like it. I guess you have to be somewhat a perfectionist. The kids had fun though and I guess thats all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I used the pretzels for the legs and it was delicious! I only gave it 2 stars because it was really cumbersome to make. I used medium sized marshmallows, and ran out of room in the middle after squishing it to insert the legs. Covering it with chocolate proved to be difficult as well because it was hard to cover the entire spider, and then I had to make sure there was not chocolate between the legs so you could tell they were legs. It may have been easier with large marshmallows, and may get easier with practice, but I do not have the time or patience to make several spiders as I had intended. It took me 15 minutes to make 3 spiders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I burnt half a bag of chocolate before I realized this recipe wasn't going to work. Ended up having to cover the spiders with the chocolate with my fingers. I used reeses peices for eyes. They turned out really cute but the kids werent that interested in them and the legs didn't taste very good. But there are plenty of other good recipes for halloween here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These were delicious. We used coconut crusted marshmallows. The chocolate in the bag thing didn't work for me, though. I added a little extra butter and a teaspoon of milk and drizzled it out of the measuring cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Holder-White

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Millican, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This was a disaster. Chocolate not running enough to drizzle. After putting it in the plastic ba, bag was too hot to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This was a disaster! Recipe did not work for me at all. The chocolate was like frosting, I tried to fix it, but failed. Save time & money...skip this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have been making these for years with this recipe. It's a great family activity and everybody loves to eat them! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Easy to make, but the first few came out ugly. Once I got the hang of it they looked nice. I had a hard time getting the balance of chocolate and butter right so that they weren't sticky - so I ended up serving them with toothpicks. I also used pretzels for legs. I ended up making the spiders, dumping the whole spider in the chocolate mix, then turning it over with a fork, and then fishing it out with the fork. The I stuck them in the freezer to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States