Edible Play Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
You can increase or decrease this for the number of kids you have...just keep everything in equal parts. If you want the dough to be a little firmer, add some flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
i thought i would try this recipe as it has no refined sugar, but i was very dissapointed in the results. the kids could not play with it because it was to oily to roll out, so i added powdered sugar to it which only made it very sticky and tacky from the honey i am guessing. i did not follow the other review about using flour because i thought it would make it taste to bad for the kids to enjoy eating it after playing with it. i will try some other recipes that i have found.--update-- i covered dough in powdered sugar and wrapped in wax paper, let it sit for a few days. was okay to work with but still very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I don't know about playdough, but this was my favorite thing to make while in elementary school. I had it for a snack at least once a week and could easily make it myself. I'm a little shocked to see it on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I gave this a 4 because it is too sticky/oily when made exactly like this, although it may depend on the kind of peanut butter you use. I like to add oatmeal, raisins or craisins, seeds or nuts, even some ground flax meal to make it even more nutritious. Can shape into balls and refrigerate or press into a pan and cut into squares. My husband and I love them as a quick breakfast, and our 1-yr-old son can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My 2 1/2 year old loves this - I didn't have any powered milk so I used fat-free dry coffee creamer and it worked fine. She is having a ball making all kinds of treats with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this with few modifications; I reduced the honey to 1 cup as some reviews said the dough was to sticky; also I didn't have any powdered milk so I used confectioner's sugar (2 cups). I found the dough was still a little too sticky so I added about a 1/2 cup wheat bran. It turned out great and the kids thought it was so cool that they could eat the play dough after they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
definitely too sticky. this should have more of the milk powder or another dry ingredient added. i've also used crushed graham crackers, rolled into an oval for a body of a bee, chocolate chips for eyes, and sliced almonds for wings. you can also melt chocolate chips, put them into a baggie, snip off the tip, and make stripes on the body. it's a big hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
All this recipe needed was an extra cup of the dried milk. After that, it was perfect! The kids LOVED it:) I have a day care in my home, and we combined snack time with craft time. Will use again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very fun, kids had a blast with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sissy's Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Add 2 cups oatmeal for a different version that is healthier and less sticky. Equal parts powdered milk, honey, pb, and oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States