Edamame-Stuffed Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
What a great low fat alternative to deep fried egg rolls and spring rolls! I followed this exactly with great results. Everybody loved them. Instead of sprinkling salt on the tops of the rolls I made a dipping sauce and dipped them in. I used equal parts of low sodium soy sauce and rice wine vinegar, a splash of mirin and hosin sauce, and 1/2 tsp of sugar. Turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these for New Years Eve (adding twice the amount of garlic). Prepared the edamame mixture the day before and let it sit in the refrigerator so the flavors could "mingle". They were GREAT! A huge success with everyone. Even my husband who isn't a fan of edamame. Served the wontons with Chinese mustard, Hoisin and Ken's Asian Sesame dressing as dipping sauces. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I've wanted to make wontons for awhile. I found this recipe and had to give it a try. While I'm not a vegetarian I like to cut meat out as much as possible. I made the filling as suggested. Added about a tablespoon of seasoned rice vinegar. The filling ended up more flavorful than expected. They are just so delish! I like that they were baked too. They did turn out crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Followed recipe exactly. We did NOT like these at all. Sorry. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
AMAZING!!!!! I added more garlic and green onions than the recipe called for, and these turned out absolutely delicious. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I was so interested by the description of this recipe that I had to experiment! With the edamame filling, I added minced fresh ginger along with the green onion. Since I didn't have hoisin sauce on hand, I used oyster sauce instead. I blended about half the beans, and later combined the blended beans with the whole beans. Overall, it yielded a delicious result! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Pretty good. Def. needed more flavor. The flavor seems to come more from the dipping sauces than anything else. I used regual soy and also sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I love edamame and wontons, so I was excited to try these. But they were really bad. I had to make a ton of adjustments to the filling just to make them edible. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
These were excellent! I made them for my brother and he took the rest into work the next day and asks for them all the time. I made up a bunch and froze them for him and he said they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I added some salt to the filling mixture as well as doubled the amount of garlic. Baked them instead of frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States