Edamame Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Easy to make, tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
My best friend asked me to make Edamame Soup for her birthday so I gave this recipe a try and it turned out great though I used a whole small onion instead of just half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I love this recipe. It's very filling and easy to make and has a beautiful color. For a little kick you can add some red bell pepper to the puree, although it does alter the color a bit. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
First time i tried to make this and it turned out so great. Super easy, healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I had a 10oz bag of whole edamame in the freezer... well, in the back of the freezer... that I needed to use. Since it was a *touch* on the frosty side and probably not prime for enjoying with just salt, I used the ingredients search and found this recipe. Since I didn't have 3/4 of a pound edamame, shelled or otherwise, I shelled what I had and weighed -- roughly 4 oz. I scaled the recipe accordingly (love that feature!) and just followed the basic instructions. Probably after about 20 minutes of gentle simmering in the chicken stock the onion and edamame became tender, so I used an immersion blender to blend as smooth as possible. Actually, it did blend very nicely -- almost like a pea puree -- then I just added half and half until desired consistency. Additional salt wasn't necessary as the chicken stock supplied plenty and it really didn't need pepper... but it needed a little something. A few drops of sesame oil upon serving were perfect. This isn't a soup I would absolutely crave after a long day... but it is one of those unique offerings which would make gorgeous appetizers / starters prior to an asian-inspired meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Yum! I made some changes based on what was in the kitchen - I put a 1 lb. bag of frozen makimame (already shelled edamame) in the microwave to cook per the instructions on the bag. I chopped up some leftover onion, a clove of garlic, and a handful of celery in a mini chopper, then sauteed the mix. I added 4 c of culinary chicken stock (the rest of the package would be wasted if I didn't). Boil, simmer, add hot edamame beans. Cook a bit then blend with the immersion blender. Added about 4 T butter and maybe 3 c heavy cream, then about 1/2 c of chopped bacon and seasoned with Slap Ya Mama cajun seasoning. Plan to garnish with grated cheese, chopped green onions and more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Courtney Lucko
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious! I followed the recipe but kept the beans on simmer (they were frozen) the whole prep time plus cook time until they needed to go into the blender. I added (to my liking, everyone is different) garlic salt and some (about 1/3 cup) Holland House SAKE Cooking Wine (it's new so check a few stores for it). Absolutely delicious - thank you for the recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Lucko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This soup was okay but de-skinning all those beans was not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I'm sorry to give a low score, but my husband said it was "for the sake of another family." LOL We all love edamame, so we were looking forward to this soup. While I would consider giving the taste/flavor 4 stars, everything else was lacking. It look a lot longer to make than I expected, and the recipe doesn't specify how long "until edamame and onions are soft" might be. I guessed and simmered it for at least 20-30 minutes. When I put the puree in the blender, it seemed smooth, but it was not a smooth consistency when we ate it. The milk also seemed to be WAY too much. Hard to tell since the measurement for the edamame quantity is based on shelled edamame, but you start the recipe by using it still in the shell. So....bottom line.....simply boil the edamame and eat them straight with a little soy sauce. It's much better and takes a fraction of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States