Edamame Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
UPDATE: I've been making this frequently - just nice to have for a quick snack and take to work for lunch - so I thought I'd give a try to freezing it in one cup containers - works great - you would never know it wasn't freshly made!! Also - I now cook the edamame and add it to the rest towards the end of cooking time - I found the texture is more satisfying. I also use red onions and add them at the end for that bit of crunch. Another update: I wanted to use up what I still had in the refrigerator so I made quesadillas with it. All I did was add some salsa to the salad and put it with some cheese on a flour tortilla that I painted olive oil onto the outside -folded and baked at 350 for about 10 mins. - turned on the broiler and browned the tops - we LOVED them! LOVED this!! I skipped the garbanzo beans and added quinoa and avocado. This was our first time having edamame and it was a nice experience. Meanwhile I can't wait to try this salad in a wrap with spinach and chicken!! We used gluten free chips and enjoyed it a lot! Also it lasts for quite a few days in the refrigerator - warm or cold - it was a healthy way to start 2014!! Happy New Year and Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by peachy
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This salad is DELICIOUS!!! We ate some right after I made it and straight out of the fridge. We at it with tortilla chips as a dip and my kids LOVED it! I have never made a recipe on here that has not been rated but so glad I did. This is already in the recipe files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now and it just gets better every time. We find so many ways to eat it. I will eat it cold right out of the fridge, or I warm it up and just eat it by the spoonful. There is so much fiber in it that it fills you up quickly. I just eat a few spoonfuls as a snack. You can also warm it up and mix in a little dab of sour cream - awesome! I made chicken in the crock pot, shredded it and put the chicken, with this bean mixture, and sour cream into a soft tortilla - so good. We top baked potatoes with this as well. SO many ways to use it. The first time I made it I followed the directions as is except I did not include cilantro - my family doesn't like it. After that I made only one change - I reduced the amount of salt. I only use 1/2 teaspoon. One teaspoon was a bit too much for us. I would start with 1/2 teaspoon, taste it and add more if you want. I also add the cumin and salt to the lime juice and then mix it in with the beans, I think the dry ingredients blend better when you wix it with the lime juice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
You had me at Edamame! ;) This salad is perfect! Added a little extra lime juice, cilantro, and cumin (personal preference) I also threw in 1 1/2 cups cooked red quinoa. So good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrogandCricket

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Pleasant, fresh taste and nice appearance. That's it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made it exactly to recipe, smoked salt and all. It lacked "kick", so I added a little more of each spice and some diced jalapeno. Still a bit flat, but a good base. Held up well in fridge. Will try again with suggestions to add a grain, but it's not a favorite. Very lovely presentation however - colorful and bright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Have made this dish a few times now and it is always a big hit! I am not even a "bean" person and I love it. Stays good for a few days so we use it for lunches, snacks or as a side with dinner. Just wish All Recipes would define what a "serving size" is to go with the calorie count! Otherwise, All Recipes is my "go to" place for delicious and different recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I am a big bean lover and recently found out I can't eat pinto beans anymore. As a result I have turned to black beans and garbanzo beans. This recipe has both as well as edamame which I enjoy. It's quite simple and easy to make. I, however, wanted something to work more as a main dish so I added shredded chicken (one of the store bought already cooked kind). It needed a little more moisture so I added a touch of chicken broth. I actually left out the corn (another item I recently found out I can't eat) and onion which I just don't care for. I added the lime juice, cilantro, salt and pepper and especially liked the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a tasty healthy side dish. Good to make on Sunday and help get you through the work week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I have seasoned it with taco seasoning and ranch seasoning hoping to get more flavor. Going to refrigerate and cross my fingers that it gets better:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States