Edamame Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I am a big bean lover and recently found out I can't eat pinto beans anymore. As a result I have turned to black beans and garbanzo beans. This recipe has both as well as edamame which I enjoy. It's quite simple and easy to make. I, however, wanted something to work more as a main dish so I added shredded chicken (one of the store bought already cooked kind). It needed a little more moisture so I added a touch of chicken broth. I actually left out the corn (another item I recently found out I can't eat) and onion which I just don't care for. I added the lime juice, cilantro, salt and pepper and especially liked the lime flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a tasty healthy side dish. Good to make on Sunday and help get you through the work week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made it exactly to recipe, smoked salt and all. It lacked "kick", so I added a little more of each spice and some diced jalapeno. Still a bit flat, but a good base. Held up well in fridge. Will try again with suggestions to add a grain, but it's not a favorite. Very lovely presentation however - colorful and bright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Have made this dish a few times now and it is always a big hit! I am not even a "bean" person and I love it. Stays good for a few days so we use it for lunches, snacks or as a side with dinner. Just wish All Recipes would define what a "serving size" is to go with the calorie count! Otherwise, All Recipes is my "go to" place for delicious and different recipes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I have seasoned it with taco seasoning and ranch seasoning hoping to get more flavor. Going to refrigerate and cross my fingers that it gets better:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This was delicious! Made it exactly as written, except I used regular sea salt and added 1/4 tsp. of black pepper for a little more flavor. So, so good. Definitely plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My husband, our 1 year old and myself all love this recipe! It's so good warm or cold. We often eat it as a dip with multi-grain chips. It's also good cooked up with chicken and even in a tortilla shell with pepperjack cheese. So good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is a great healthy recipe with great flavor that could be used as an appetizer with chips, a salad, or an entrée (add grilled meats). I am not crazy about jarred roasted red pepper so I just cut up some peppers and threw it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Loved this! Delicious both warm and cold. Quick and Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this recipe several times now and it just gets better every time. We find so many ways to eat it. I will eat it cold right out of the fridge, or I warm it up and just eat it by the spoonful. There is so much fiber in it that it fills you up quickly. I just eat a few spoonfuls as a snack. You can also warm it up and mix in a little dab of sour cream - awesome! I made chicken in the crock pot, shredded it and put the chicken, with this bean mixture, and sour cream into a soft tortilla - so good. We top baked potatoes with this as well. SO many ways to use it. The first time I made it I followed the directions as is except I did not include cilantro - my family doesn't like it. After that I made only one change - I reduced the amount of salt. I only use 1/2 teaspoon. One teaspoon was a bit too much for us. I would start with 1/2 teaspoon, taste it and add more if you want. I also add the cumin and salt to the lime juice and then mix it in with the beans, I think the dry ingredients blend better when you wix it with the lime juice first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States