Ed Zieba's Famous Family Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
this is tami, the recipe submitter...thankx for all the comoments, however for those who said it had not much flavor, i can see why, just by looking at the picture that someone put up on this. it looks NOTHING like what this is supposed to. i need to put one up i think:) it should come out looking very very VERY juicy, the pan over half full with an orangy liquid to where the onions soak up this color and are almost melted. if the onions are piled on top and still white when you take it fromt he oven, you didnt add enough season all, or water. this dish does not need anything else but that, unless something else suits your palate:) enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I consider myself a fairly decent cook, but I have never been able to solve the mystery of the pork chop. No matter how I cooked them, I could never produce anything but tough dried out chops. Until now! Thank you Tami & Ed. I can now cook pork chops that I almost have to arm-wrestle for! These truly are fall-off-the bone tender. Woo hoo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooknbabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
The cooking method really does make the most tender pork chops my family has ever tasted. However, the seasoning is just so-so. I added garlic because I couldn't see how just onions and seasoning salt could give much flavor and I was right. The chops were perfect for the applesauce my family was craving but I think it could use a bit more flavor. I think adding onion soup as a previous reviewer stated would definitely give this the flavor I was craving. Thank you for the recipe, we will definitely be using the cooking method in the future, we will just be changing the seasonings. **Update** My husband told me these were the best. He gave them 4.5 stars, so I updated my rating. The leftovers absorb all the "gravy" and the flavor comes through more. Who knew pork chops could taste better the next day?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is fabulous! Follow the directions and like magic - juicy, tender and tasty pork chops/onions. This is my favorite pork chop recipe. I like to use 3/4" or larger bone-in. The recipe calls for season salt which is fine but add your own garlic, seasonings or whatever your taste buds conjure - I don't think you can screw it up. If you do use the dried onion soup as a seasoning use only a tsp or two, maybe with a little poultry seasoning (it works well here). But do not skimp on the real onions - vidalia are my favorite for this recipe. And guess what? At the end of the 1-1/2 hours, if you are not ready, just turn the oven off and leave them there; they will be even better after they rest. And don't bother making gravy out of the liquid - just pour it on as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I maid this for my famly last night and it was so good. My oldest son is three and don't eat meat and he ate this. I have to say this is one of the best ways to make pork chops they were so tender and just down right great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
YUMMMMY! I used this recipe "Method" to prepare 'My Own BBQ Chops' for dinner tonite! I have never had such Tender Pork Chops (besides mush soup chops in the crock pot) I season my chops with Emils Rib Rub, Worchestershire Sauce and top each chop with BBQ Sauce and spread it around. Followed the cooking instructions exactly and they were SUPERB!***** This is a KEEPER!!! Thank-you! for the recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These are the most tender pork chops I have ever had! We used barbeque sauce instead of water, which we all thought gave it great flavor. Even my picky seven year had seconds. Served with baked potatoes and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
While these were tender, they weren't particularly flavorful. I used seasoning salt but didn't use a lot because I didn't want the chops to be too salty. Perhaps adding garlic powder would help. I have another recipe which is simmered on the stovetop that is better - chops are browned in a little oil, then simmered on low in a combination of can of cream of mushroom soup, dried minced onions, drained canned mushrooms and a little white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I was overall pleased with this dish. I noticed that one user mentioning the meat came out dry and another user mentioning the use of a gravy. I too, ended up with a very dry pork chop even though I followed the directions to a tee. I kept the gravy comment in mind and added some flour to the left over liquid in the dish and got a nice semi-thick gravy mixture. Of course, it could be made thinner or thicker depending on the person's liking. After I made and used the gravy concoction, I was very happy. I still think I'll try cutting down the cooking time or perhaps the temperature next time but over all, with the gravy included, I was happy and content with this dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
These pork chops were very tender and tasty. I found them to be a bit sweet tho...I guess that comes from the onions. I added garlic and garlic salt/powder and otherwise cooked as recipe calls. I will make again and maybe not put in as much onion (even tho we love baked onions) and see if that adjusts that sweetness since we tend to like more savory dishes. Still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States