Ed Zieba's Famous Family Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
All the high reviews promised a lot, so I had my hopes up high for these chops. Maybe that's why I was so disappointed. I used two bone-in chops that were almost an inch thick and, with the exception of adding pepper and garlic powder, I followed the recipe exactly. They were cooked through and moist, but they certainly weren't fall-of-the-bone tender. I still needed a steak knife to cut them up. Maybe that was due to the thickness...? The juices in the pan after cooking weren't really appetizing, so I didn't do anything with them. They tasted alright though, but I do have to say that the best thing about this dish is the onions, which, after being cooked for so long, were deliciously sweet and tender. I wish I had put more on top of my chop. We served these with potato pancakes and applesauce - a classic combo. I'd like to try a variation of this again to get the moist chop, but I'm not sure what I could do to make it better. Maybe a broth instead of water...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy!!!! This turned out fabulous. It was fall off the bone tender and the flavor was awesome. I only had 4 chops, so I used only 1 and a half onions. Will use more next time. I made a side dish of rice and was stealing the onions off the pork chops for the top of the rice. I failed to read some of the other comments about the gravy. Will definitely do that next time. Husband loved this dish. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I love pork chops but every time I make them they come out tough and dry. I tried this recipe hoping they would come out tender, and that is exactly what happened. These pork chops were falling apart as I was trying to get them out of the pan. I seasoned them with some random Parmesan Garlic seasoning I had in the cabinet and they were the best chops I have ever made! Beware: the pan turns brown and looks like it will never come off but make sure you use a glass baking dish, and if you soak it in warm soapy water for a few minutes it comes perfectly clean! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
best pork chops I have ever had. I didn't have season salt, so I just used garlic powder, salt and pepper. I also added a few sliced potatoes on top. So tender and delicious. They aren't the nicest looking pork chops, but they are delicious. Next time, I will try browning them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I tried taking a pic but it was gone before the camera could focus! I only added mushrooms. My family LOVED it and I'm the man once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maloofent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
We just finished dinner and are unable to eat a lot of tough, dry leftover pork chops. I followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what went wrong. There was plenty of liquid left in the dish. After reading other reviews, I was looking forward to a really good, moist pork chop. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wondermom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were really easy and tasted great. I served them with redskin potato salad and apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Used boneless chops. I didn't have any onions so rubbed garlic in and used BBQ sauce. Cooked for 30 min @400 and for 45 @350. very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
REALLY BLAND! I did, however, use the leftover meat in a mushroom sauce over pasta the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Hellerup, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States