Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My boys love it! Thanks a lot for the great recipe! I shaped them like profiteroles and added fresh raspberry for a filling. Yummy-yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I made these yummy in the tummy's along with some French Vanilla cream puffs. What a great pairing! This recipe I have no complaints with. For those that say your pastry keeps falling, sometimes it means you have to stir the pastry faster. You cannot be slow about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckinfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strafford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mount Olive, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe, I've been craving chocolate eclairs so I got some from a local bakery that typically makes very good eclairs which were horrible this time so I decided to make my own....I will never buy eclairs again. The only change I made is using chocolate pudding instead of vanilla. Also I think the filling portion was way too much for this batch size, but my kids didnt mind eating the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Salted butter + 1/4 teaspoon of salt was more than enough.... In fact, the dough was way too much salty that even with the cream inside, I could taste the saltiness that came through... Won't do that recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
followed recipe. use homemade pudding instead. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful thank you so much patty this will be a keeper for sure! ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was a very temperamental pastry and maybe it just is my lack of experience, but I had a lot of trouble with this one. The pastry dough didnt come out right the first time and I used another recipe that worked fine. I think you also need to stress that you CANT open up the oven or the eclairs will fall :(. Aside from those things the eclairs were great, but I think they are a lot more trouble than their worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoRn11

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I made these for a party they were very good. I could not give 5 stars because I used homemade vanilla pudding inside. Not from a box. Making pudding takes about 15 to 20 min. at max and it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiki
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
They seriously do taste like they are fresh out of a bakery; the custard is absolutely perfect. Not too sweet or overwhelming, but flavored just right. I did adjust the chocolate ganache according to the top rated reviews because the original was too thick and bitter for my taste. Also, I actually messed up the first step a bit; make sure your butter is really boiling before you add the flour, don't let it cool even for a little bit! Don't forget to poke holes in the eclairs immediately after taking them out of the oven to release the steam--I take this opportunity to dot three holes along the bottom OR two holes, one on each end, using a 1/4 inch piping tip. I use that same piping tip with the custard filling later rather than cutting the eclairs in half because I find this a lot more fun and aesthetically pleasing :) You can feel when the eclair is fully piped with custard because it actually becomes heavier. All in all, easy recipe with impressive presentation--I'll definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This seems to be the same recipe that my mother used to fix for the family. If we were lucky, she would fix it every other month or so. Unfortunately, there were a lot of us, so we never got more than one. I fixed it exactly as the recipe was written. I found the chocolate frosting to be on the thick side and just thinned it with a tiny bit of milk until it flowed correctly. The only difference between this recipe and my mother's, is that she would occasionally give us a can of Hershey's chocolate syrup and use that instead of melting the squares. I like the squares better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States