Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Over all the eclair, was easy and addicting to eat. It was a easy step-by-step instructions that my young daughter and I could follow. She claims its even better then the ones from the nearby bakery. Although I have to say the chocolate was clumpy and hard to spread. I added more water, but it seemed to do no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Husband wanted eclairs for his birthday dessert so I decided to try my hand at making them from scratch. This recipe is quite easy, and they came out really well. It does require some time to get all the steps in. I followed others idea, and piped the filling in (used a ziplock bag). It was a messy job, but came out good once I got the hang of filling them up. The filling was light tasting and less heavy than a custard I am used to. My only complaint was the "frosting". It looked fine until I cooled it a bit to frost and then it became less smooth. Still it tasted great. If I can find a frosting I like better I may do that next time. Fun to make these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
this is by far the best and an easy way to make Eclairs the only thing I did deferent was I added vanilla to the dough when I added the eggs and I use nutella for icing them it was veeeeeeery good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
These are wonderful. You can also use the pastry and fill them with shrimp or crab salad for a delightful brunch! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe and after reading the reviews I too adjusted the amount of milk to 2 cups in filling and still had lots left. I wanted to pipe the filling but did not have a pastry bag/tips so used a turkey infuser- worked great- just filled thru both holes that I pierced to let steam out. Thanks to all for tips, i' m sure that led to my success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I really liked the eclairs themselves. Except I made a mistake and scooped and shaped them with a spatula onto the baking sheet, rather than piped them so they came out very weirdly shaped. BUT, they still hollowed out perfectly and they tasted great! I followed earlier suggestions NOT to open the oven for the entire time until done and also to add the eggs carefully, only beating in one egg at a time. The chocolate icing on the other hand - worst recipe I have ever used. The icing dried up way too fast and wouldn't even stick to the eclairs on their own (I tried to dip them in the chocolate for easy application).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
my husband loved these so much he said they were better then store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These eclairs were sensational! All of my siblings loved them. The only thing that I didn't like was the filling. Using pudding mix makes it really watery. So to make it more firm, make the filling a day before you make the eclairs. Trust me, it works. ~Baker101
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I loved these and I will add two notes. first, your eclairs might look done but they need to cook throughout so don't be shy with the cooking time. second,the chocolate could be improvise by making it thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly; however, I did follow a few tips left by others. I DID NOT open the oven door while the eclairs were baking, especially when I changed the temperature of the oven. I used the back of a wooden spoon to pierce the ends of the eclair shells as soon as they came out of the oven and piped in the filling once they had cooled completely. I also dipped the tops of the eclairs in the chocolate while it was still warm in the pan rather than drizzling it on. They turned out PERFECT and SO DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States