Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I really liked the eclairs themselves. Except I made a mistake and scooped and shaped them with a spatula onto the baking sheet, rather than piped them so they came out very weirdly shaped. BUT, they still hollowed out perfectly and they tasted great! I followed earlier suggestions NOT to open the oven for the entire time until done and also to add the eggs carefully, only beating in one egg at a time. The chocolate icing on the other hand - worst recipe I have ever used. The icing dried up way too fast and wouldn't even stick to the eclairs on their own (I tried to dip them in the chocolate for easy application).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
my husband loved these so much he said they were better then store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These eclairs were sensational! All of my siblings loved them. The only thing that I didn't like was the filling. Using pudding mix makes it really watery. So to make it more firm, make the filling a day before you make the eclairs. Trust me, it works. ~Baker101
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I loved these and I will add two notes. first, your eclairs might look done but they need to cook throughout so don't be shy with the cooking time. second,the chocolate could be improvise by making it thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly; however, I did follow a few tips left by others. I DID NOT open the oven door while the eclairs were baking, especially when I changed the temperature of the oven. I used the back of a wooden spoon to pierce the ends of the eclair shells as soon as they came out of the oven and piped in the filling once they had cooled completely. I also dipped the tops of the eclairs in the chocolate while it was still warm in the pan rather than drizzling it on. They turned out PERFECT and SO DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Wonderful recipe, just too much filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
These eclairs are the best. The only issue I had was I spponed too much of the dough for some of the eclairs and because of that some came out too big. Other than that, these were absolutely delicious. I do think this recipe can yieled more than 9 eclairs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
awesome! definitely makes more than 9 normal size eclairs. poke a hole in the ends to release the steam, this works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rob&jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
The universal standard pastry recipe. If you have never made cream puffs, you might want to research a little bit for hints. Although the filling is not a classic pastry cream, it is a delicious quick "cheater" recipe that I have used before for mini puffs. Nice chocolate topping that firms up, as it should...you don't want a sticky eclair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States