Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
this recipe is fabulous. I have made it several times and the only thing I do differently is that I pip in the filling. The chocolate I drip on top in a nice design, and the chocolate taste fabulous...even though someone said it didn't that it was bitter, it wasn't bitter in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
These turned out delicious with Martha Stewart's pastry cream recipe. Double batter to use up all the pastry cream. Made mini eClair's 1/2 inch by 2 inch in size. 10 minutes or so at high temperature and 20 at low temperature. Check after 5 and 15 minutes to make sure not getting too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first time making eclairs and I baked them with my mom - they're DELICIOUS! Once you have a bite of one, it's hard to stop! The only modifications I made were adding 1/4 cup of confectioner's sugar and 1 more ounce of semisweet chocolate to the glaze. It did dry up pretty quickly but we got all the eclairs glazed and done by the time it did. They puffed up to be huge, and a few fell, but none were ruined. In all, this is a great recipe that we're definitely saving to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
The real deal! My husband doesn't have much of a sweet tooth but loves eclairs. He really enjoyed having these instead of a cake on his birthday. Tastes better than the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are absolutely delicious! I have made them for several parties, showers, etc and am always asked what bakery I got them from. I follow the recipe exactly, with the only exception being finishing technique. I don't cut the tops off completely; instead I cut them like a sandwich roll, leaving one side attached. After the shells are filled, I dip the eclairs in the chocolate instead of drizzling it on top. Comes out amazing, with less wasted chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Over all the eclair, was easy and addicting to eat. It was a easy step-by-step instructions that my young daughter and I could follow. She claims its even better then the ones from the nearby bakery. Although I have to say the chocolate was clumpy and hard to spread. I added more water, but it seemed to do no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Husband wanted eclairs for his birthday dessert so I decided to try my hand at making them from scratch. This recipe is quite easy, and they came out really well. It does require some time to get all the steps in. I followed others idea, and piped the filling in (used a ziplock bag). It was a messy job, but came out good once I got the hang of filling them up. The filling was light tasting and less heavy than a custard I am used to. My only complaint was the "frosting". It looked fine until I cooled it a bit to frost and then it became less smooth. Still it tasted great. If I can find a frosting I like better I may do that next time. Fun to make these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
this is by far the best and an easy way to make Eclairs the only thing I did deferent was I added vanilla to the dough when I added the eggs and I use nutella for icing them it was veeeeeeery good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
These are wonderful. You can also use the pastry and fill them with shrimp or crab salad for a delightful brunch! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe and after reading the reviews I too adjusted the amount of milk to 2 cups in filling and still had lots left. I wanted to pipe the filling but did not have a pastry bag/tips so used a turkey infuser- worked great- just filled thru both holes that I pierced to let steam out. Thanks to all for tips, i' m sure that led to my success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States