Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Lorena
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. As per user suggestions, I dipped the eclairs in the chocolate before filling them. This gave a smooth, unified layer of chocolate across the top. I piped the filling inside without cutting with a size 12 pastry tip. After making two separate batches of these, I found that piping the pastry dough with a size 10 tip creates a perfectly shaped finished eclair. They almost triple in size when they are baking! I piped mine out at about 1" wide and they came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OhYoungCardinals
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I absolutely adore this recipe! This was my first time making eclairs and they turned out better than expected. They taste just like the eclairs I get from a bakery downtown! I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty great. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhYoungCardinals

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Easy recipe for eclairs. I suggest letting the dough cool slightly before adding the eggs. The filling is okay but I prefer pastry cream (a good recipe is on here) The fudge topping is awesome. We used that recipe to cover some bananas and strawberries and as an ice cream topping. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
amazing and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMurray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mrzstew09
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was good. I plan to make a different filling and I'll use more whip cream next time or cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrzstew09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Great recipe for the pastry. I needed a good recipe so I could use up the rest of the custard I had made for a previous cream puff recipe I had that I didn't like. This one was great!! Hollow in the middle and just the right amount of crispiness. I only used 2 large eggs instead of 4 though, but I did't think that would matter much. I will definitely use this recipe every time I decide to make these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I only used the icing recipe--it was excellent, perfect consistency and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My eclairs stuck to my pan, so I would spray the pan or use wax paper next time, but otherwise, I followed others advise and added eggs one at a time in my mixer. After I removed them from the oven I punctured the ends to let steam out as advised by others. I made pudding ahead and refrigerated while eclairs were baking so it was firm. The whipped cream mixture was too thin even when added to pudding. I would decrease the amount of milk drastically. I used 2 cups milk in the pudding and it was too thin when combined with whip cream mixture. I only needed 2 Tbsp. of water in chocolate mixture but it came out the perfect consistency. I would make this again, because the taste was amazing, but I will alter the filling so thicker. It was easy enough to make, and the timing in the oven for the eclairs was perfect if followed exactly. Thanks for this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Stahl
Home Town: Porter Corners, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Excellent receipe!! Made them for my best friend, they loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chinachewy
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
OMG!!! They puffed out so much! =) it ended up looking like hamburger buns! Proportions are a little off: it can probably make 12 eclairs and I have a lot of left over filling. Nomz if you like vanilla pudding or if you have time to make a second batch of pastry puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinachewy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States