Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this in an ungreased 13x9 pan. Once pastry was cooled, I layered the chocolate first, then pudding mixture, then finally topped with whipped cream...for pretiness, chocolate shavings on top. This dessert was GONE! the reviews are so true, definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was totally yummy. My husband loves me more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These were fantastic. I followed the advice to prick a hole in the end of the warm eclair to let the steam out...not sure if it made a difference but why not? The filling was too runny for me, so I would like to try again with less milk. I actually don't really like the vanilla filling, but my husband loves it so I made it that way. I piped it in which was nice and easy. Next time I would like to make some and pipe plain whipped cream into it which is the way I grew up eating them. Fantastic easy recipe. Also, I put the 'dough' in a zip lock bag, cut a corner off about the width of the eclairs and then piped them out onto the cookie sheet - SO EASY. Thanks for the recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These are very good. I was looking for something for kids and guest that was different and you wouldn't normally see at a party. I made these with a little twist. I put the crust in a mini muffin tin staring the corners. After baked and cooled I filled with a layer of cream, added whip cream then drizzled with chocolate. It was such a sucess. I don't like to rate recipes without trying them as directed. However I made as recipe called I just made them with a twist and added whipped cream. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The filling was divine. I thought the glaze was grainy. The pastry itself was very eggy for my tastes, but tasted much better on the the second day, once it was refrigerated. TIP: beat extremely well after each egg and DO NOT open your oven, cook for the ENTIRE time or your eclairs will fall flat. Also, if you are baking these on a cold day the shock of taking them out of the oven can cause the eclairs to fall. On my second batch I let them cool in the oven with the door open. I learned the hard way with my first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My family, friends, and co-workers love these. Everyone always wants more. I highly recommend this recipe. I had never made an eclair before and they turned out great from the first time and everytime after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These tasted great! I had a little bit of trouble with the shell not rising high enough to slice. I will try and make them again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Photo by Lorena
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. As per user suggestions, I dipped the eclairs in the chocolate before filling them. This gave a smooth, unified layer of chocolate across the top. I piped the filling inside without cutting with a size 12 pastry tip. After making two separate batches of these, I found that piping the pastry dough with a size 10 tip creates a perfectly shaped finished eclair. They almost triple in size when they are baking! I piped mine out at about 1" wide and they came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OhYoungCardinals
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I absolutely adore this recipe! This was my first time making eclairs and they turned out better than expected. They taste just like the eclairs I get from a bakery downtown! I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty great. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhYoungCardinals

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Easy recipe for eclairs. I suggest letting the dough cool slightly before adding the eggs. The filling is okay but I prefer pastry cream (a good recipe is on here) The fudge topping is awesome. We used that recipe to cover some bananas and strawberries and as an ice cream topping. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States