Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
followed recipe. use homemade pudding instead. amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful thank you so much patty this will be a keeper for sure! ^.^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was a very temperamental pastry and maybe it just is my lack of experience, but I had a lot of trouble with this one. The pastry dough didnt come out right the first time and I used another recipe that worked fine. I think you also need to stress that you CANT open up the oven or the eclairs will fall :(. Aside from those things the eclairs were great, but I think they are a lot more trouble than their worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoRn11

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I made these for a party they were very good. I could not give 5 stars because I used homemade vanilla pudding inside. Not from a box. Making pudding takes about 15 to 20 min. at max and it is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiki
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
They seriously do taste like they are fresh out of a bakery; the custard is absolutely perfect. Not too sweet or overwhelming, but flavored just right. I did adjust the chocolate ganache according to the top rated reviews because the original was too thick and bitter for my taste. Also, I actually messed up the first step a bit; make sure your butter is really boiling before you add the flour, don't let it cool even for a little bit! Don't forget to poke holes in the eclairs immediately after taking them out of the oven to release the steam--I take this opportunity to dot three holes along the bottom OR two holes, one on each end, using a 1/4 inch piping tip. I use that same piping tip with the custard filling later rather than cutting the eclairs in half because I find this a lot more fun and aesthetically pleasing :) You can feel when the eclair is fully piped with custard because it actually becomes heavier. All in all, easy recipe with impressive presentation--I'll definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This seems to be the same recipe that my mother used to fix for the family. If we were lucky, she would fix it every other month or so. Unfortunately, there were a lot of us, so we never got more than one. I fixed it exactly as the recipe was written. I found the chocolate frosting to be on the thick side and just thinned it with a tiny bit of milk until it flowed correctly. The only difference between this recipe and my mother's, is that she would occasionally give us a can of Hershey's chocolate syrup and use that instead of melting the squares. I like the squares better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is a great, simple recipe that I've been using for years. I use the choux pastry as a base and change up the fillings and toppings. My family's favorite eclairs are filled w/ pistachio creme & topped with white chocolate & pistachios. Thanks for this wonderful recipe Patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
The pastry is perfect. But when I make these, I always opt for a homemade pastry cream, which is why I deducted one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Amazing recipe, so easy to make with restaurant quality results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very good recipe, but the proportions of filling to shells seems a little off. I ended up making a double batch of shells for a single batch of filling. Also, don't forget to poke holes in the shells when they come out, and make sure they are cooked all the way through for the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States