Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Incredible!! Made miniature sized shells and took them to a baby shower. I got so many compliments- nobody could believe that they didn 't come from a bakery. Followed the recipe exactly and these were just perfect. Even got a couple of orders to make for Easter. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very tasty; the only part I had trouble with was the size, they puffed up too large and were hard to pull apart. If the thickness of the batter were more specific, it would be more informative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keeskupcakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very good. Delicious, easy, and not as time consuming as you might think. Only thing I'll change next time is to use only 2 cups of milk (that's what the box says) rather than the 2.5 that the recipe calls for just so it will be a big thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The pastry recipe was wonderful, but I am not sure about the filling. It tasted great but the pudding wouldn't set properly. Not really sure what I did wrong except maybe I should make the pudding a day in advance so it can set up before mixing with the cream. Other than that they tasted wonderful, and was an easy recipe to make. I was told from my friend who was a baker I would not be able to make the pastry as it was fairly complicated, but haha I did:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Since I started baking, a friend of mine very subtly told me that eclairs are his favorite. So I decided to make him some for a wedding present. I spent two weeks trying to find the perfect recipe before I finally found this one. Everyone who tried one said they were delicious! Though I wasn't able to getting them looking as pretty as I'd like, I was very pleased with the results. I will keep practicing until I get them looking just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyash91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I read all the reviews before I decided to try this recipe...there were a lot of reviews with alternate ingredients and it was really confusing. There was one review that said she read them all just like me and decided to try the recipe exactly like it is. That's what I did and it came out wonderful!! My pastry came out nice and golden brown,lite and fluffy. The filling was thick and creamy and tasted great! I didn't have a pastry bag so I just put my pastry dough in a freeze bag and clipped off the end. They came out a.little smaller than they were supposed to but I just.made a few more with the.extra batter. I did poke holes in the.ends with the handle of a wooden spoon to let out the steam. I also thought the chocolate topping came out.great, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Made according to recipe as much as possible as I cut the serving size to 3. Will do the 'crust' much differently next time. Tried to shape it with a knife as one review suggested, but even though they looked good on parchment paper, I wasn't pleased with the boxy look I ended up with. Next time, I will actually take a gallon freezer bag and put the dough in and squeeze it through. The filling went fine, but my husband said he preferred the regular custard kind, but it was a good substitute. The chocolate I messed up on and put the whole amount of milk instead of water right away. Won't do that again. But I put in extra powdered sugar and it turned out OK. Dipped the top in the chocolate before putting in on the 'custard'. Had plenty of custard and chocolate left over so I put them together and my daughter ate it as a pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very time consuming but so worth it- the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I used cook and serve vanilla pudding cooled, and piped it in.for the choc.icing I asked my supermarket bakery for a little container of the choc.icing they put on the donuts. You just heat it in the microwave a minute or two, stir it and dip the eclair in it . It's just like from a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States