Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These were so easy yet impressed a lot of people. I followed the directions exactly and they were delicious. I would have preferred if the cream were a little thicker, it was a little thin and oozed out. Maybe less milk in the pudding mix or allowed the pudding to thicken in the fridge before mixing the whipped cream. The flavor is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robbob42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and thought the cream filling was a little too loose. However, it tasted great. Also, I spooned the shell (dough) onto a greased cookie sheet with a spoon. I'll definitely get a piping bag next time. Thank you. These were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I have never made or even had a eclair. My husband requested them and boy oh boy!! he loves them! he said they taste exactly like they are supposed to. i did follow reviewer DONNA advice. i added 1/2 cup powdered sugar for the filling, and used 2tblspn milk and 3 oz. chocolate, and 1/4 cup p. sugar for the topping. came out beautiful. i will be buying a pastry filler though. when you cut the pastry in half it slides and is a lil messy to eat. I also followed PEGGSTER1973 advice to cut a lil slit on each end of pastry to allow it to cool off and not become soggy inside. Thanks for all the advice. I want to try this for myself. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Incredible!! Made miniature sized shells and took them to a baby shower. I got so many compliments- nobody could believe that they didn 't come from a bakery. Followed the recipe exactly and these were just perfect. Even got a couple of orders to make for Easter. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Very tasty; the only part I had trouble with was the size, they puffed up too large and were hard to pull apart. If the thickness of the batter were more specific, it would be more informative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keeskupcakes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Very good. Delicious, easy, and not as time consuming as you might think. Only thing I'll change next time is to use only 2 cups of milk (that's what the box says) rather than the 2.5 that the recipe calls for just so it will be a big thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The pastry recipe was wonderful, but I am not sure about the filling. It tasted great but the pudding wouldn't set properly. Not really sure what I did wrong except maybe I should make the pudding a day in advance so it can set up before mixing with the cream. Other than that they tasted wonderful, and was an easy recipe to make. I was told from my friend who was a baker I would not be able to make the pastry as it was fairly complicated, but haha I did:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Since I started baking, a friend of mine very subtly told me that eclairs are his favorite. So I decided to make him some for a wedding present. I spent two weeks trying to find the perfect recipe before I finally found this one. Everyone who tried one said they were delicious! Though I wasn't able to getting them looking as pretty as I'd like, I was very pleased with the results. I will keep practicing until I get them looking just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyash91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I read all the reviews before I decided to try this recipe...there were a lot of reviews with alternate ingredients and it was really confusing. There was one review that said she read them all just like me and decided to try the recipe exactly like it is. That's what I did and it came out wonderful!! My pastry came out nice and golden brown,lite and fluffy. The filling was thick and creamy and tasted great! I didn't have a pastry bag so I just put my pastry dough in a freeze bag and clipped off the end. They came out a.little smaller than they were supposed to but I just.made a few more with the.extra batter. I did poke holes in the.ends with the handle of a wooden spoon to let out the steam. I also thought the chocolate topping came out.great, love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States