Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Lovely recipe! I've never made eclairs before so I was a bit concerned about how moist the dough was, but it turned out great! I did follow other reviews and used a mixer for the dough. Then for the fill I used an instant pack of vanilla pudding and half a pack of frozen whipped dressing ( there was too much filling so I'll cut it in half next time I'm making it, luckily I had graham crackers and chocolate glaze left so I made an eclair inspired no bake cake) . Anyhow , I did read many reviews with conflicting advices about the glaze so I came up with my own simple version. A little milk, a little semi sweet chocolate chips and a good bar of milk chocolate ( I used Lindt). It was superb! Thanks for the recipe, my boyfriend agrees that it's a lot better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
These were pretty good, easier than i thought. I think next time i'll skip the chocolate and just make cream puffs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
A great recipe... although I had twice as much filling as I needed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Made this last nite - I usually really appreciate reviews that add suggestions but this time they were making me stress so I decided to follow the ingredients as listed and everything was wonderful. I did put the filling in with a pastry bag, had just the right amount of filling to fill each eclair generously and it was delicious. The chocolate topping was a perfect consistency and taste. Everything was wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Wow! Dropped by spoonful, it worked great. Pipped with filling. Made a chocolate ganache for the top using 1 c. cream and 1c. bittersweet chips. Would probably use semi-sweet chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a good recipe but one thing i saw that can cause problems is adding the eggs right after taking it off heat. You should put the dough in a mixer with padle and mix until there is no steam coming up. Thats the right way to make the pate a choux (which is used in making eclairs, cream puffs etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brian1987

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Florence, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Delicious! I just made the eclairs - used a different recipe for pastry cream, and I just dipped the tops in melted chocolate so that it would dry hard. Delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These are fantastic!! There are two tricks to making them though. first be sure to beat dough until the bowl is cooled down a little bit THEN add the eggs one at a time blending VERY well after each one. The second trick is to poke a hole at the end of them when they come out of the oven. If you dont i find they get soggy inside. OH and the filling is more than enough, you only need about half of what it makes. I started making these about a year ago for my family and boyfriend. i have to make them by request almost every month now. i always double the recipe and they are gone the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Way more filling than you'll ever need! But this is truly a "Eclair", just like the bakery. Do what you feel is necessary to thicken the chocolate, it's a little runny. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I made these eclairs for a ladies getogether and they turned out delicious! I am not much of a baker, so I felt I might be a little out of my league preparing these. However, I followed the instructions exactly as listed, and the eclairs turned out perfect and so delicious. Was worried, living in Colorado, that I might need to add more flour to pastry recipe, but I did not add it and they turned out perfect. Thank you for a wonderful dessert recipe! No question that I will make these again. BTW, I also had a lot of left-over filling, so I really piled it in the pastries. They were decadant that way, but I made sure the cream did not spill out and create a messy dessert for my guests. The left-over filling became a special dessert for my three little boys the next day. Stored well in fridge overnight and I served in three little bowls and put strawberries and blueberries on top. They loved it (and so did I)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States