Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These are very good. I was looking for something for kids and guest that was different and you wouldn't normally see at a party. I made these with a little twist. I put the crust in a mini muffin tin staring the corners. After baked and cooled I filled with a layer of cream, added whip cream then drizzled with chocolate. It was such a sucess. I don't like to rate recipes without trying them as directed. However I made as recipe called I just made them with a twist and added whipped cream. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The filling was divine. I thought the glaze was grainy. The pastry itself was very eggy for my tastes, but tasted much better on the the second day, once it was refrigerated. TIP: beat extremely well after each egg and DO NOT open your oven, cook for the ENTIRE time or your eclairs will fall flat. Also, if you are baking these on a cold day the shock of taking them out of the oven can cause the eclairs to fall. On my second batch I let them cool in the oven with the door open. I learned the hard way with my first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My family, friends, and co-workers love these. Everyone always wants more. I highly recommend this recipe. I had never made an eclair before and they turned out great from the first time and everytime after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These tasted great! I had a little bit of trouble with the shell not rising high enough to slice. I will try and make them again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Photo by Lorena
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. As per user suggestions, I dipped the eclairs in the chocolate before filling them. This gave a smooth, unified layer of chocolate across the top. I piped the filling inside without cutting with a size 12 pastry tip. After making two separate batches of these, I found that piping the pastry dough with a size 10 tip creates a perfectly shaped finished eclair. They almost triple in size when they are baking! I piped mine out at about 1" wide and they came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OhYoungCardinals
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I absolutely adore this recipe! This was my first time making eclairs and they turned out better than expected. They taste just like the eclairs I get from a bakery downtown! I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty great. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhYoungCardinals

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Easy recipe for eclairs. I suggest letting the dough cool slightly before adding the eggs. The filling is okay but I prefer pastry cream (a good recipe is on here) The fudge topping is awesome. We used that recipe to cover some bananas and strawberries and as an ice cream topping. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
amazing and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMurray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mrzstew09
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was good. I plan to make a different filling and I'll use more whip cream next time or cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrzstew09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Great recipe for the pastry. I needed a good recipe so I could use up the rest of the custard I had made for a previous cream puff recipe I had that I didn't like. This one was great!! Hollow in the middle and just the right amount of crispiness. I only used 2 large eggs instead of 4 though, but I did't think that would matter much. I will definitely use this recipe every time I decide to make these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States