Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I never thought making eclairs was this easy. I always thought of it as this really hard thing, lol. I gotta say this is my second attempt, last time (about a year ago) was a failure but I wasn't using this recipe (I think). Anyways, this is a superb recipe, I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Delicious!!! When i tasted the topping straight off the heat, I had my doubts...I put it anyway, after cooling down, the whole thing was delicious....my husband and 6-year-old nephew fought over it:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marmar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
First time ever attempting Eclairs, or any pastry for that matter. I took the suggestion of one other user and made mine in a bundt pan instead. Baked good, came perfectly out of the pan. Sliced it in half, filled with the vanilla filling and topped with chocolate. So good..so easy! I didn't have heavy cream for the filling, instead I used the pudding, half and half and added some Cool whip. I kept the powdered sugar and vanilla the same. I also used semi sweet chocolate chips, butter, powdered sugar and half and half for the chocolate. It was a big hit, even the younger kids were wanting more and more..no leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Thank you Patty!! These were absolutely awesome! People did not believe these were made at home. I did use a stand mixer for the pastry dough and stirred on low 3-5 minutes to allow steam to escape before adding eggs. I made them for a crowd, so I used one recipe and piped out 45 mini eclairs. I'm not that experienced with pastry bags, so I wasn't sure what a "No. 10 or larger" tip looked like, but since I was making mine small it hardly mattered. I used a pastry bag with no tip at all and just piped about 1 1/2" strips. Definitely needed two cookie sheets. For that size I cooked them at 12 minutes at 450, and 15 minutes at 325 - perfect! For the filling I only had a 3.4 oz. pudding mix, so I cut the milk (used skim) to 2 cups. Next time I will cut back to maybe 1 3/4 cups. I piped the filling in using a tip that looked like a thick turkey baster, and poked/piped both ends. That worked well and used up all but about 1/2 cup of the filling. For this many eclairs I needed 1 1/2 times the icing. Don't panic when you add the sugar to the chocolate mix - it will all come together when you add a little water. I used about 3 Tbsp water for 1 1/2 times the icing. Make the icing after the shells are filled and work quickly, or it will harden and you have to reheat to soften again. (Can set the pan on a heating pan on low, covered with a towel.) Can't wait to have an excuse to make these again! Tomorrow is MLK Day..... that may be a good enough excuse! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
These were easy, came out beautiful, tasty and totally professional looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love eclairs filled with vanilla cream and glazed with chocolate. This recipe looks good but I usually prefer to make the cream from scratch without using prepackaged puddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
lost a star because of the chocolate topping didn't work and I had to alter the recipe to make it work. I melted chocolate chips and added a bit of shortening it worked great and tasted great. I also let the batter cool a bit before sticking it in my stand mixer and incorporating the eggs (per the traditional method of pate a choux). I also dipped the eclairs before cutting them open and filling. The filling is perfect but does make extra (who cares you will want more!)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this in an ungreased 13x9 pan. Once pastry was cooled, I layered the chocolate first, then pudding mixture, then finally topped with whipped cream...for pretiness, chocolate shavings on top. This dessert was GONE! the reviews are so true, definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was totally yummy. My husband loves me more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These were fantastic. I followed the advice to prick a hole in the end of the warm eclair to let the steam out...not sure if it made a difference but why not? The filling was too runny for me, so I would like to try again with less milk. I actually don't really like the vanilla filling, but my husband loves it so I made it that way. I piped it in which was nice and easy. Next time I would like to make some and pipe plain whipped cream into it which is the way I grew up eating them. Fantastic easy recipe. Also, I put the 'dough' in a zip lock bag, cut a corner off about the width of the eclairs and then piped them out onto the cookie sheet - SO EASY. Thanks for the recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States