Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I love eclairs filled with vanilla cream and glazed with chocolate. This recipe looks good but I usually prefer to make the cream from scratch without using prepackaged puddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
lost a star because of the chocolate topping didn't work and I had to alter the recipe to make it work. I melted chocolate chips and added a bit of shortening it worked great and tasted great. I also let the batter cool a bit before sticking it in my stand mixer and incorporating the eggs (per the traditional method of pate a choux). I also dipped the eclairs before cutting them open and filling. The filling is perfect but does make extra (who cares you will want more!)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made this in an ungreased 13x9 pan. Once pastry was cooled, I layered the chocolate first, then pudding mixture, then finally topped with whipped cream...for pretiness, chocolate shavings on top. This dessert was GONE! the reviews are so true, definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was totally yummy. My husband loves me more now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These were fantastic. I followed the advice to prick a hole in the end of the warm eclair to let the steam out...not sure if it made a difference but why not? The filling was too runny for me, so I would like to try again with less milk. I actually don't really like the vanilla filling, but my husband loves it so I made it that way. I piped it in which was nice and easy. Next time I would like to make some and pipe plain whipped cream into it which is the way I grew up eating them. Fantastic easy recipe. Also, I put the 'dough' in a zip lock bag, cut a corner off about the width of the eclairs and then piped them out onto the cookie sheet - SO EASY. Thanks for the recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These are very good. I was looking for something for kids and guest that was different and you wouldn't normally see at a party. I made these with a little twist. I put the crust in a mini muffin tin staring the corners. After baked and cooled I filled with a layer of cream, added whip cream then drizzled with chocolate. It was such a sucess. I don't like to rate recipes without trying them as directed. However I made as recipe called I just made them with a twist and added whipped cream. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The filling was divine. I thought the glaze was grainy. The pastry itself was very eggy for my tastes, but tasted much better on the the second day, once it was refrigerated. TIP: beat extremely well after each egg and DO NOT open your oven, cook for the ENTIRE time or your eclairs will fall flat. Also, if you are baking these on a cold day the shock of taking them out of the oven can cause the eclairs to fall. On my second batch I let them cool in the oven with the door open. I learned the hard way with my first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My family, friends, and co-workers love these. Everyone always wants more. I highly recommend this recipe. I had never made an eclair before and they turned out great from the first time and everytime after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
These tasted great! I had a little bit of trouble with the shell not rising high enough to slice. I will try and make them again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Corgan
Photo by Lorena
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. As per user suggestions, I dipped the eclairs in the chocolate before filling them. This gave a smooth, unified layer of chocolate across the top. I piped the filling inside without cutting with a size 12 pastry tip. After making two separate batches of these, I found that piping the pastry dough with a size 10 tip creates a perfectly shaped finished eclair. They almost triple in size when they are baking! I piped mine out at about 1" wide and they came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States