Eclairs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This came out great. The shells came out perfect, but when I cut them, they were a little soft inside, so i recommend opening them and letting them dry out in the oven for a little bit, or slitting the side half way through baking. The filling was unbelievably great! I had alot left over, so we ate it by the spoonful. Next time I will double the dough. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The filling is wonderful......but I had the problem with runny dough and of course it baked into a big pile of nothing. Beat the eggs in one by one like directed. If anyone could help me get the dough right I'd really like to try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I just made these today and theycame out perfect. The only thing was that the cook time for the shells was much longer for me, I divided the recipe into 10 eclairs and baked them for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARAMELDIVA1922
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
These eclairs are perfect. I read the reviews, and made somee adjustments to the cream. I made the pastry the same way, but did mini eclairs with a piping bag. The cream I just added 2 small boxes of pudding, and 1/2 c powdered sugar. I dipped them after cool in chocolate, and the used a piping bag to fill with cream. These were great, and so easy to make I did it with my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARAMELDIVA1922

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
These are so good! i make them all thetime, and my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I'd never made Eclaires before, but I tried these ones and they were great. I'm not exactly sure why there were so many bad reviews, I have no pastry experience and they turned out fine for me. The only reason this isn't 5 stars is because the recipe makes more than double as much filling as is needed for the number of pastries, so I had to make two batches. But they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by great_girl11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was my first time ever making eclairs and they were a hit with the firefighters!!!!!!!! Easy recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kann3140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is "the" classic eclair recipe. For anyone having trouble with the consistency of the dough, make sure you are following the directions carefully. When I was a kid, my cream puffs turned out like eggy pancakes too. I had failed to follow the directions. You MUST completely stir in each egg at a time. If you crack and add all the eggs and then stir, it will not work! Also, it seems to work better with metal saucepans. Teflon seems to make it too smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I thought this recipe had great flavor, and they were fairly easy to make. However, I have never made eclairs before and am not sure if they came out quite right. the recipe called for one 5 ounce pkg of vanilla instant pudding. I used 1 pkg at 1.5 ounces (which called for 3 cups of milk to make the pudding) and the other at 3.5 ounces (which called for 2 cupd milk)-yeah, I know, it looks backwards, but i promise thats what the packages said :) Anyway-following the directions in the recipe, I used both packages and only 2 cups of milk, and my filling came out pretty thick. So my question, is it supposed to have a thinner more pudding like consistancy, or one a little thicker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
the most amazing treat to eat and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States