Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I've made this cake before and love it, but I just have to say this. The suggestion to microwave the frosting for 15-30 seconds is a simple, yet genius idea. I don't make this recipe nearly as often as I like because it's incredibly difficult to frost graham crackers that are on a bed of pudding. Like, I want to poke out my eyeballs when I'm done, difficult. But the frosting softening makes it a snap, and I might be whipping this up a lot more often now. I love the eclair cake as is, but I also make a variation with chocolate Graham's, cheesecake pudding, and cheesecake frosting. Wowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Silver Burnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The family loved it,but me not as much....I'll definitely make it again for them. I too used French vanilla pudding and made a chocolate ganache instead of using canned frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Wow, simple and delicious. Make sure you use instant pudding and not the cook and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
A dessert that my husband loves, but was a little disappointed in the store bought chocolate frosting. Below the frosting was delicious and was even better the second day. I will make this again, only next time make a homemade chocolate icing for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
TOOK to work today for a lunch potluck and it WAS GONE in one hour !! I never made this before and I had to double this recipe. FIRST of all in case you DONT thaw the cool whip in the frig, no worries. I did not thaw in the frig I was in a hurry. I had 4 boxes of pudding - 2 banana and 2 French vanilla, cheap brands. I used 2% milk. 2 containers of STORE brand topping that looks like cool whip but I did use good gram crackers. I made in the large square aluminum pan i got from the 99 cent store. no spraying anything at the bottom I saw those on some recipes and why? your not baking anything. Anyway first thing i did was have the bags of crackers cut open and on a dish so that you have them ready to layer especially when the second layering starts. in a large bowl I dumped the 4 boxes of pudding, 6 cups of milk and dumped on top of all that the two containers of the FROZEN whipped topping. I used my mixer and had a nice thick mixture in 3 minutes. filled open spots with broken pieces. i used honey and cinnamon, my frosting was a blend of heated choc and vanilla. CHILLED covered with foil from 7pm to when I took to work chilled again until we had at noon and it was GONE and delicious !! I wonder what it will be like when I do thaw the cool whip ha-ha does not matter this is a FAIL PROOF recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was really yummy however it reminded me more of a tiramisu just with less cake texture. I tried to healthify this, if you will, and used So Delicious whipped light coconut topping (lactose intolerant here), original almond milk light, 2 1oz packets of sugar free white chocolate, 1 1oz sugar free cheesecake and 1 3.5oz vanilla (I got a little creative with what I had on hand). I brought it in to my co-workers and they devoured it in one day, mind you we only have 5 of us in our office! I also took the advice from another user with the chocolate frosting and made it myself with the coco powder, butter, etc. I'm quite sure the original recipe is fabulous if It still tasted great with my revisions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It was a total hit! I made it for a friend for her birthday and she also had a piece for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This recipe is easy to make and so delicious!! *****One easy tip though****....I actually warm up the frosting to liquefy it then pour it on and even it out. I recommend doing it on the stove on low heat though....then it doesn't burn like the microwave could make it do. When it chills back up it is back to frosting form and still just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ontario, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Made this for a Christmas party and everyone loved it. So easy and yummy. I melted Hersheys milk choc frosting right in the container in the microwave until it was pourable. Going to put this one in my personal recipe book for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Feeding a crowd of 75 with this tomorrow night. I used french vanilla pudding. And it does taste like an eclair to me. Simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States