Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was a very easy and simple recipe to make which I loved. The only thing that everyone who ate this said, including myself, is that the topping is VERY VERY sweet. I personally love sweet, but this was over the top sweet. So I recommend eliminating the chocolate frosting the top and maybe just add an additional layer of pudding. Also I used chocolate graham crackers to give it more flavor and it was a hit! I will make this again, but just not use the chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe for a friends birthday and it didn't work out at all for me. It turned out soupy, literally liquid was spilling from it and I put it in the refrigerator overnight and again when I got to work hoping it would harden up. Not so. I think maybe put 1 cup of milk in and stir everything together and maybe another cup of milk, but I wouldn't do 3 again, it just did not set for me at all. I will try it again, just because of all the rave reviews... I will do a cup of milk at a time next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very easy to make and turned out great. Makes a great dessert for a get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yet another fantastic easy cake that looks like you spent hours on it (the other is the coconut "poke cake" on this site, which I highly recommend as well). It's much more delicious than it would seem from the simple ingredients. I agree with reviewers that found the vanilla pudding filling a bit "bland" but then, so is the pastry cream that fills an eclair! But the recipe can be customized and the filling is so delicious and versatile, I'm going to try it with a simple trifle and other fruit desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
So easy to make. It was loved by all the people on my camping group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I've made this cake for more years than I care to think about. Always a big hit. A friend called asking me to make it again for a gathering of friends on Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
We really liked the eclair cake. I've eaten other versions and I would definately increase the cream filling by one and a half or double. I also highly recommend microwaving the frosting so it is pourable and using about 3/4 of the container. Even without the changes it was tasty and so easy. It is pretty too. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
little bit sweet. use less chocolate spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was too easy to be this tasty!!!! I might try it with some banana slices tucked into the middle layer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I'm optimistically giving this five stars, though that wasn't my result. I think the thickness of the layers may be crucial to a good result. Mine were too thick and completely overwhelmed the cracker layer. It's definitely easy to make and would lend itself to many variations. Using real whipped cream, for example, would be excellent, though you'd have to make sure it would all be eaten pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States