Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made exactly as written the first time. It was yummy and easy but needed more fridge time to really soften the graham crackers. The second time I used cheesecake flavored pudding mix, thinned out the frosting in a double boiler and added strong coffee to it. I only used about 1/3 of that mixutre, just drizzling it on top. OVER THE TOP DELISH. Thanks for a great recipe, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This went over big with my family and so easy. I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of adding a tsp. of vanilla extract to the pudding mixture and letting the cracker/pudding layers set in the refrigerator for about 2 hours before frosting (I used milk chocolate), which, upon the tips of others here, I heated at 80 power for 30 seconds then stirred. This made it quite easy to spread over the top cracker layer. I refrigerated it for a full 7 hours before cutting. Quite pretty. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHSNC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Good, but not over-the-moon great. It tastes exactly like its ingredients -- pudding and frosting, with a little graham cracker. It's a dessert to make for the family, but I wouldn't bring it to a party. Also, save yourself a bunch of calories by skipping adding whipped topping into the pudding; the pudding just tastes like pudding, and isn't discernibly better with the addition of whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I have been making this for years too, but I mix it up a little once in a while and make it with banana pudding with banana slices on top, ive made it with chocolate pudding with chocolate graham crackers and coconut pudding with chocolate frosting as well, all varities are excellent and a perffect after school snack for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I make a similar cake, but quickly dip the crakers in a mixture of 1 cup prepared coffee + 1 Tablespoon of cognac or brandy, instead of canned frosting I top with chocolate ganache. you can have a lot of variations for this cake, you can be as creative or as sophisticated as you want it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is a keeper!....I did tweak this a little because I am not a fan of cool whip. I used 2 packges of french vanilla pudding, 1 cup of milk and 2 cups of heaving whipping cream and beat it altogether until fluffy....was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love this. I've been making it for years! Instead of spreading the frosting, I've always melted it in a small pan then poured it over the top. Looks beautiful, tastes excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCB62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this for my Bunco group. It was so good. Everyone enjoyed it. I didn't expect it to be so good. Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was a hit at the super bowl party. I beg to differ with reviewers, this tasted very much like the choco covered eclairs I buy in the freezer section. The graham crackers I bought were store brand, not very sweet and tasted like cardboard to me. But I had to use them since I bought them especially for this. Used the cool whip and instant vanilla pudding as called for. Followed other reviewers and brought 1 cup of heavy cream to boil and poured over a full 12 oz. bag of semi-sweet Ghiradelli chips and whisked in 1 tsp of Rodelle vanilla. Poured over and smoothed out and put in the fridge for 24 hours. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States