Eclair Cake with Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Why did I try this recipe? It is so good that I want it all the time! Followed it to the T and it was so so yummy! Tastes just like an Eclair!! Love the crust, love the filling, and love the chocolate. So what if you have to use more than one bowl. This is the real deal. Thank you Laney Jane my tastebuds thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddievedderandme

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Turned out wonderful. Everyone in my house loves it. :-) I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Made it at first for a friend's birthday, and later made it again just because both the friend and I enjoyed it so much. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars for taste and presentation, although I will make slight modifications next time. If you mound the dough more towards the centre, you'll get a better baked shape. Next time I'll use half the filling ingredients. I don't prefer a Ganache for chocolate eclairs. I made one from Good Housekeeping that is better (in our opinion)(2tbsp butter or margarine, 2squares unsweetened Chocolate, 2tbsp hot water, 1-1.5 c. icing sugar). To make it like a real chocolate eclair, slice the baked pastry in half horizontally, pour in the filling, cover with the top layer and ice the top layer. I served 14 people with this cake. Everybody raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe! I make it in 2 varieties, as written and without the pudding (double the whipped cream and powdered sugar to taste). You can use any ganache recipe you'd like. I am looking forward to being creative with this... making the dough, letting it cool, putting a layer of ice cream and then toppings... or fruit and caramel... the possibilities are endless! Thank you Laney Jane!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN ON A PLATE - the only thing to mention ~ I should have smoothed the pastry shell dough completely flat when spreading in the 13 x 9 glass pan. I ended up with 'over the top' edges ~ the dough will form it's own 'edges'. Otherwise followed recipe almost exactly (only added 3 eggs for the pastry shell & used semi-sweet chocolate chips in ganache) and everyone raved about my Mothers Day contribution !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My husband loves Eclairs, so this was the perfect recipe for his birthday cake. I used a french vanilla pudding and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This recipe was SO easy and SO delicious!!!! My mom even asked me to make two more cakes! This was so perfect, the pastry shell did not taste eggy at all. The filling was perfect, and not overly sweet like alot of desserts. I can't wait to make this next Christmas to bring to my in laws =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim N.
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wonderful! I used this recipe for all parts of the cake, but followed the directions for the shape of it from the Chocolate Eclair Torte recipe- dropping tablespoons of the dough in a circle onto parchment paper to bake. I spread the filling and ganache on top of that. The filling is very tasty- the heavy cream tones down the sweetness of the pudding, and makes it really rich. The dough is light and soft, and puffed up perfectly as it baked. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This cake is amazing. It's one of the first desserts I've made that was completely finished by my family. It is even better the next day, so I would recommend making it the day before you plan on serving it so that the flavors really meld. The ganache should be properly chilled in order to get the eclair texture. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and the ganache tasted great. Please don't substitute anything else for this crust, either--the crust what makes the cake taste like a true eclair. The pastry shell stays firm enough to support the filling without getting soft or soggy. I have tried other eclair cake recipes that call for graham cracker crumbs in layers and they do not have the delicious and realistic eclair taste that this recipe has. Freeze the beater(s) along with the mixing bowl and your whipped cream will form stiff peaks faster. And make sure your bowl is completely clean before attempting to whip the cream; that's why you whip it before you mix the pudding. Fold in pudding with a spatula and don't overmix and it will stay fluffy. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States