Eclair Cake with Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Yum!! Made this for dessert on a Friday night for my parents and I as a special treat at the end of a long work week. All of us absolutely loved it!! The dough came out perfect and I did not find it to be too eggy as others have suggested. I followed the recipe for the dough and filling portions of this dessert exactly. I used a recipe for a chocolate glaze that I have used in the past to top my regular eclairs which uses semi sweet chocolate chips, butter, milk, and corn syrup. In the future I think I will try out the ganache the original recipe includes. This dessert was much easier to make than the somewhat daunting looking recipe indicates. I was expecting it to be a bit of a juggling act of bowls and utensils but in actuality with a little forethought it's quite simple. I made this cake before I started making dinner which gave it plenty of time to chill in the fridge before serving. Everyone found it to be an extremely decadent and tasty treat that was equally delicious the next day, too! With it only being the three of us there was plenty left over although it didn't last long in the fridge. I definitely plan to make it again, perhaps for a holiday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I enjoyed making this recipe several times. Yes its alot of utensils, but its worth it. I make this for work meetings and my daughters ROTC flight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This dessert is delicious and impressive to guests. I made it for a bridal shower and people were making comments as soon as they saw it that they had to have a piece. It did take a bit of time and several dishes to prepare, but was worth it for the end result. I will be making this one again! SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This turned out really well, and is nice and easy! My brother requested it for his birthday and it was a hit with the entire family. The one problem I had was that "1c" of chopped chocolate was not enough in proportion to the cream to make ganache, it ended up more like hot cocoa. I added about 2oz extra chocolate and it came out fine, but there was also lots of extra ganache, so I probably could have gotten away with 3/4c of cream and less chocolate. Every other ganache recipe I've ever made measured chocolate by weight, so that was probably the problem. I'd estimate you need about 6oz chocolate for 1c cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BraggFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
The filling was good. But, I have made similar recipes that were much simpler. For instance, instead of making fresh whipped cream, use store bought (then you can choose a lighter version). Also, for the crust it was very doughy and eggy tasting. I did only use 3 eggs instead of 4 like other reviews suggested. If I make again, I would use just a flower/ butter mixture for a simple crust that is gives you more of that crust texture and use store bought whipped topping. Our friends liked it though and one went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this recipe for my wife's birthday. I will just say the next day there was barely any left in the pan. This cake is awesome and I would highly recommend it to anyone that loves sweets!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this for my hubby's birthday party and we all loved it. He loves eclairs and this tasted just like one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Why did I try this recipe? It is so good that I want it all the time! Followed it to the T and it was so so yummy! Tastes just like an Eclair!! Love the crust, love the filling, and love the chocolate. So what if you have to use more than one bowl. This is the real deal. Thank you Laney Jane my tastebuds thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eddievedderandme

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Turned out wonderful. Everyone in my house loves it. :-) I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States