Eclair Cake with Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A LITTLE PIECE OF HEAVEN ON A PLATE - the only thing to mention ~ I should have smoothed the pastry shell dough completely flat when spreading in the 13 x 9 glass pan. I ended up with 'over the top' edges ~ the dough will form it's own 'edges'. Otherwise followed recipe almost exactly (only added 3 eggs for the pastry shell & used semi-sweet chocolate chips in ganache) and everyone raved about my Mothers Day contribution !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My husband loves Eclairs, so this was the perfect recipe for his birthday cake. I used a french vanilla pudding and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This recipe was SO easy and SO delicious!!!! My mom even asked me to make two more cakes! This was so perfect, the pastry shell did not taste eggy at all. The filling was perfect, and not overly sweet like alot of desserts. I can't wait to make this next Christmas to bring to my in laws =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim N.
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wonderful! I used this recipe for all parts of the cake, but followed the directions for the shape of it from the Chocolate Eclair Torte recipe- dropping tablespoons of the dough in a circle onto parchment paper to bake. I spread the filling and ganache on top of that. The filling is very tasty- the heavy cream tones down the sweetness of the pudding, and makes it really rich. The dough is light and soft, and puffed up perfectly as it baked. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This cake is amazing. It's one of the first desserts I've made that was completely finished by my family. It is even better the next day, so I would recommend making it the day before you plan on serving it so that the flavors really meld. The ganache should be properly chilled in order to get the eclair texture. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and the ganache tasted great. Please don't substitute anything else for this crust, either--the crust what makes the cake taste like a true eclair. The pastry shell stays firm enough to support the filling without getting soft or soggy. I have tried other eclair cake recipes that call for graham cracker crumbs in layers and they do not have the delicious and realistic eclair taste that this recipe has. Freeze the beater(s) along with the mixing bowl and your whipped cream will form stiff peaks faster. And make sure your bowl is completely clean before attempting to whip the cream; that's why you whip it before you mix the pudding. Fold in pudding with a spatula and don't overmix and it will stay fluffy. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
YUM! I added an 8 oz package of cream cheese to the pudding which was sugar-free. I also did not add any extra sugar to the whipped cream. It makes a fabulous sugar-free dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASUISSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My husband loves this 'cake' so much! He requests it all of the time. I brought it to my in laws for Christmas and they all enjoyed it as well! I don't add any additional sugar/vanilla to the whipped cream because the pudding mix is sweet enough. I have also halved the recipe and it turned out just as well (I did cut the baking time to 15 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for a Christmas dessert this year (didn't try it out ahead of time). I read a number of the other reviews and took some of those things to heart. But I just LOVED this dessert! It's light and flavorful. I could have probably eaten half the pan myself that night! lol Well worth making if you like Eclairs. It's inspired me to make single eclairs now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
this was very easy to make but did use a lot of bowls, utensils, etc. and time. i had a feeling the faux cream filling (made with pudding mixes) was not going to be that great, and it wasn't. the crust got a little soggy for my taste (that dough probably really wasn't mean to be a bottom crust of a "cake"). will most probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Amazing! It tasted just like an eclair donut! The filling is so delicious, I used French vanilla pudding for that too, it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States