Eclair Cake with Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!! The directions are great, and the recipe is very easy. I wouldn't change a single thing, everyone loved it. I made it for a dinner party. I was worried about the pastry shell getting soggy, so I baked it in the morning and left it at room temperature. I then made the pudding mixture and refrigerated it separately. I made the ganache just before dinner and let it cool while we ate. I put it all together just before serving. Perfect!! The refrigerated leftovers are not soggy. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Really easy and excellent recipe! Huge Mother's - In Law Day hit! (You know it must be amazing if your mother-in law loves it!) Thank you. If you rated this low then you seriously need a course in baking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Everyone loves this cake......this is the second time I have made it and it is my "go to" dessert for all occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa_Shanelle
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Best eclair recipie!!!! The crust is flaky much like an eclair. The graham cracker eclair desserts are good, but, this one is better! I followed others' advise and chilled my mixing bowls and mixers. Allow ganache to cool a bit before adding. Heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Love love this recipe! Big hit, everyone love it. I am being asked to make this over and over. My sister is allergic to coco, so I was thinking of making it with white chocolate, so she can have it too. Will give an update of the result. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very tasty, but quite filling! Only small portions needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassidy Jo Hirsch
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I made it for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it! Best dessert idea ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy Jo Hirsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
When I make this my husband hovers over it, guarding it like a wild animal. He LOVES this dessert!! I didnt even know he liked eclairs--apparently he really really loves them. But this recipe is a favorite in our house!!! The only thing I changed is I add 1/4 cup sugar to the dough. That is what my friend does in her regular eclair recipe. So either way its amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I like it a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was very, very good! Our new favorite dessert, indeed. I'd never made choux pastry before and was intrigued to try a new style of pastry. Very easy to do, especially if you're familiar with the method for roux (cooking flour with butter for sauces and such). Baked the pastry for about 8 minutes longer than directed and it was perfect; let it bake until even the bottom is golden brown, the sides will most certainly puff up and create the desired boat effect. Did not add the confectioner's sugar or vanilla to the whipped cream as I knew it would be too rich for our taste buds but this was the only "change" made to the original recipe. Be sure to fold the whipped cream into the pudding, don't just scramble-mix it together. The ganache was perfect, especially after chilling on top of the cake overnight. This dessert is perfect for company or just all to yourself! We did not feel it tasted faux or plastic in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marcola, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States