Eclair Cake with Chocolate Ganache Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Yes, the shell was outstanding and the filling was pretty good, but I felt the bittersweet chocolate detracted. I wonder if milk chocolate ganache would taste better. Also, I whipped to stiff peaks, but still the cream filling was a little runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahland
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made this for work. Was perfect! Wouldn't use a 9x13 pan though, kinda weird for a Boston cream pie- maybe next time I'll try to make the recipe smaller to fit into a pie pan. All around great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Utterly delicious and my family gave it rave reviews! I will put this in my recipe box and treasure it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This turned out amazing! I cheated on the ganche and just got some chocolate glaze in the bottle. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wanted to try a new recipe for Christmas dinner. Chocolate eclairs have always been a favorite of mine, so after reading the reviews figured I would give this recipe a try. SO GLAD I DID!!! This dessert tastes exactly like a chocolate eclair.....it is so delicious! Yes, it is a little time intensive, but hey - anything "fabulous" usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing! I don't typically review, but felt like I had to given that I swapped this recipe out from the graham cracker one that I was originally going to make. I made this for my husband to test it out before making for a dinner party, and I received rave reviews from all! My husband insists that this desert should be on hand for him to eat every week, lol. I did think that the crust was a little bit eggy, but no one else seemed to think so. I can't wait to make this again over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was AMAZING! Will do tis again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
After the first time I served this I have always been asked to make it again. It's SOOO easy, & SOOO good! I don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This was really yummy. Although I didn't let my ganache get thick enough, this tasted just like a chocolate eclair. Absolutely going to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
To cut down on the number of bowls, I left the water/butter/flour mixture in the saucepan and then used my portable mixer to beat in the eggs. I baked the batter in a round cake pan and then split it in half once it had cooled. For those who think this recipe is too "eggy", this will allow you to scoop out some of the inards and then let the shell dry out a bit before adding the fillings. As others have suggested, I used French Vanilla pudding mix. I couldn't find bittersweet chocolate at the grocers, so used semi-sweet. Fresh strawberries and raspberries are in season so that made a nice garnish along with some mint leaves. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States