Eat Michigan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Hi, everyone! Wow am I surprised to see this! Sent in 2005. Anyway , hope you enjoy. I use 3 bags of butter lettuce, the prepared, prewashed type. Make the dressing the night before if you can. I have subbed swiss cheese, sliced into matchsticks, for a friend who doesn't like goat cheese and it is delicious , too. And this is a great salad for the holidays, too! Go bucks! Gourmet631
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I LOVE this salad!!! I've made it many times and always forget to review it... I ususally use feta and slivered almonds. I've subbed craisins for the dried cherries and it's still good, but the dried cherries are sooo much better- they add a nice tartness that's very complimentary to the dressing. Fresh strawberries might be good too. Sometimes I've also added a bit of yellow mustard and onion powder to the dressing and that's quite good as well. I've found the dressing is better when run through the food processor a minute- it really gives it a much smoother consistency- I've tried to cheat and skip this step, but it's kinda clumpy even if you whisk it good... still tastes good though! And like the submitter says in their review, it is better if made the night before, or even that morning. I use whatever salad veg I have on hand at the time. Make sure you use a good crisp apple like a honeycrisp, braeburn or fiji, cause that is really the star of this salad. I've also added chunked up chicken breast to make this a main dish salad and that is wondewrful as well. To sum it up, this recipe is filed in my recipe book under 'Best Salad Ever'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've never written a review before but have used hundreds of allrecipes recipes. I feel I have to review this one. I was looking for something OTHER than a salad with strawberries (only because I'm tired of them.) I tried this last night and it was a HUGE hit! Believe me, the ladies that I served it to have eaten and prepared every type of salad and they raved about this one. So much so that I had to get on the computer and print out 20 copies! The only changes I made was to mix the butter lettuce with romaine (all butter tends to get too soggy) and I had cheese on the side. I love all cheeses but some people are too picky so I had 3 bowls sitting by the salad bowl (buffet-style) one with goat cheese, one feta and one blue cheese. It worked perfectly. Also, I bought the pecans already candied (Emeralds "Pecan Pie" pecans - to die for). So, for my first review I got too wordy... bottome line is WONDERFUL salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this salad for the MI vs MI State Game 11/07 . It was a huge hit ! I tweaked it due to time constaints and used olive oil and wine vinegar..threw everything in and bought a sm. bag of already sliced apples and wa-la.. Dressing was made quickly the nite before. Now I have to pass it on. And make it for thanksgiving!..It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Easy, tasted great, as long as you don't mind a bit of sweetness. I used romaine as well as butter, and it lasted longer with dressing on it. I only needed 1/2 recipe of dressing to serve a big salad for 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I made this salad as one of the dished for my best friends baby shower....it was a hit! Since then I have made it for two other dinner parties and have gotten rave reviews. I use the "sugar coated pecans" recipe from this site and they are outstanding! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The only thing I did differently was to use a bag of 1/2 spinach 1/2 field greens. Made for a shower and everyone loved it. I rarely follow the recipes on this site 100% and rarely give 5 stars but this deserves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Perfect fall salad. Makes lots more dressing than you need for the salad. I left out the teaspoon of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Go Michigan State-beat Ohio State and Michigan! Made this as a salad in a mason jar for a friend recovering from surgery. Put the dressing in the bottom, then added the apples, cherries, pecans and goat cheese. Filled to the top with romaine lettuce. Screw on the lid. It kept very well in the fridge for about 5 days. I did put lemon juice over the apples before putting them in the jar. When you are ready to eat it just shake it up and eat out of the jar or pour onto a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
The dressing is fabulous, definitely a new favorite! I love the dried cherries and goat cheese together! I tweaked it just to lower the calories. Only used 1/4 cup oil and subbed 1/4 cup water. Used light Kraft mayo. No pecans. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I loved this salad. Never thought to add mayo and syrup together, but it is so tasty and fresh. *Update* Made it a 2nd time but didn't have real maple syrup on hand so I used regular syrup. It wasn't as sweet so I doubled the sugar. Maybe should have added a little extra. * Update* 3rd time I used low fat feta instead of goat cheese--fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States