Eat Michigan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was very, very good, but in the future I will use less vinegar. It was too tangy for me when I made it as written so I had to add more syrup and a little more sugar. It helped a bit, but I think decreasing the amount of vinegar will solve the issue. I mixed butter with romaine lettuces to give it a little crunch, and I didn't think I would like the goat cheese but was pleasantly surprised, and it goes really well with the apples and cherries. Made the Sugar Coated Pecans recipe from this site to go on top. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I was reminded of this recipe recently on the Recipe Exchange and realized that I’d never reviewed it. Well, I should have, because it is FABULOUS!! I received a bottle of pure maple syrup for Christmas and came across this recipe while searching for ways to use it. I’ve made it twice and both times it was excellent. I like to use the dried tart cherries and I used feta once, when I didn’t have goat cheese. The second time I made it I was scaling the dressing down to just a few servings – an amount too small for my blender. If you slowly add the liquids to the mayonnaise, while whisking constantly, you will avoid the clumping problems and won’t have to use a blender to get a nice, smooth dressing. Do try this one! Just writing this review is making me want to make this again – and soon! GO BUCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've never written a review before but have used hundreds of allrecipes recipes. I feel I have to review this one. I was looking for something OTHER than a salad with strawberries (only because I'm tired of them.) I tried this last night and it was a HUGE hit! Believe me, the ladies that I served it to have eaten and prepared every type of salad and they raved about this one. So much so that I had to get on the computer and print out 20 copies! The only changes I made was to mix the butter lettuce with romaine (all butter tends to get too soggy) and I had cheese on the side. I love all cheeses but some people are too picky so I had 3 bowls sitting by the salad bowl (buffet-style) one with goat cheese, one feta and one blue cheese. It worked perfectly. Also, I bought the pecans already candied (Emeralds "Pecan Pie" pecans - to die for). So, for my first review I got too wordy... bottome line is WONDERFUL salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I have made this several times this week for large groups and received rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I used Spring Mix salad, Feta instead of goat cheese and Aunt Jemimma lite syrup instead of maple syrup. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Hands down the best salad I've ever had. I just used plain pecans, not candied, and I used an organic baby lettuce blend. Otherwise, followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Excellent recipe. Didn't need to change a thing. For the candied pecans I toasted some pecans in a little butter and then mixed with sugar and a pinch of salt and pepper. Since I was only making half of the recipe, I just whisked the dressing ingredients together so I wouldn't have to wash my blender! Try this, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Ha! Made this today for the game. The Buckeyes beat Michigan and I got rave reviews for this salad. Oh, and I just realized that I accidentally left out the apples. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I used the spiced pecans recipe from this site for the nuts. This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
What can I say, everything about this salad rocks! I made this to compliment an Autumn/MI themed dinner and all raved. The dressing is outstanding! I followed the recipe exactly and loved it, but I could see changing it up a bit to suit guest's tastes and still keep it's integrity. I made the Sugar Coated Pecans from AR and used those - YUM!Okay, now I have to come up with a salad using Buckeyes! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by JMC500
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! It's got a nice sweet, yet slighty tangy flavor. It was a HUGE hit at the party. My family loves it too. I substitued swiss for goat cheese. I didn't have a blender, so I used a hand, electric mixer. Recommend making dressing hours ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMC500

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is a nice salad. I used my submersion blender to combine the dressing ingredients. This is a very important step to avoid clumps and to have a smooth creamy dressing. I used low fat mayo and halved the dressing. There was still more than enough dressing for the salad. I left out the cheese. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States