Eat Michigan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This salad is aptly named for this past weekend's OSU / Michigan game, but aside from its clever moniker, it's delicious. I made this salad weeks ago when I wanted something different to use up some goat cheese. The salad was such a hit then, I made it again, but instead used small romaine leaves to hold all of the dressed salad components (like lettuce cups). Thank you Saveur631, not only is this salad tasty, it apparently is a lucky charm as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Used olive oil in place of vegetable oil. Fantastic salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was wonderful and a big hit at my Monday night tennis! Was not sure about the dressing at first but everyone loved it! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hthienpont

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Tried this salad because it looked wonderfully delicious and different. Couldn't even imagine the taste of the blend. Tried it and liked everything except the maple syrup. I was disappointed that I had tossed it into the whole salad. Other than that, the fruit, nut, cheese combo blend was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Excellent!!! Even my "gourmet" daughter asked for the recipe. We actually had "Eat M's Salad": due to picky eaters, I offered a choice of dried cherries (Mich.), cranberries (Mass.) or blueberries (Maine). All are good, but cherries are best. We are ... Penn State! (P.S. Made it for tailgate & the salad worked, PSU beat Michigan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is an amazing salad! My daughter, who doesn't really like salads, said that I can make this salad anytime! I used spring mix lettuce opposed to the butter lettuce, used feta cheese instead of the goat cheese and I added sliced red onion rings! I live in Michigan and I am making this salad today for a tailgate party for the Michigan vs. Michigan State football game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcaiway
Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
This is my first review! Love this site and all your comments, thought it time to contribute. Made this for a gathering of Michigan foodie friends last night. It was a huge hit. I used the sugar coated pecan recipe from this site where it calls for candied pecans. Also added some granny smith apples and substituted EVO for vegetable oil. This one is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was very, very good, but in the future I will use less vinegar. It was too tangy for me when I made it as written so I had to add more syrup and a little more sugar. It helped a bit, but I think decreasing the amount of vinegar will solve the issue. I mixed butter with romaine lettuces to give it a little crunch, and I didn't think I would like the goat cheese but was pleasantly surprised, and it goes really well with the apples and cherries. Made the Sugar Coated Pecans recipe from this site to go on top. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I was reminded of this recipe recently on the Recipe Exchange and realized that I’d never reviewed it. Well, I should have, because it is FABULOUS!! I received a bottle of pure maple syrup for Christmas and came across this recipe while searching for ways to use it. I’ve made it twice and both times it was excellent. I like to use the dried tart cherries and I used feta once, when I didn’t have goat cheese. The second time I made it I was scaling the dressing down to just a few servings – an amount too small for my blender. If you slowly add the liquids to the mayonnaise, while whisking constantly, you will avoid the clumping problems and won’t have to use a blender to get a nice, smooth dressing. Do try this one! Just writing this review is making me want to make this again – and soon! GO BUCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I've never written a review before but have used hundreds of allrecipes recipes. I feel I have to review this one. I was looking for something OTHER than a salad with strawberries (only because I'm tired of them.) I tried this last night and it was a HUGE hit! Believe me, the ladies that I served it to have eaten and prepared every type of salad and they raved about this one. So much so that I had to get on the computer and print out 20 copies! The only changes I made was to mix the butter lettuce with romaine (all butter tends to get too soggy) and I had cheese on the side. I love all cheeses but some people are too picky so I had 3 bowls sitting by the salad bowl (buffet-style) one with goat cheese, one feta and one blue cheese. It worked perfectly. Also, I bought the pecans already candied (Emeralds "Pecan Pie" pecans - to die for). So, for my first review I got too wordy... bottome line is WONDERFUL salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States