Eat Michigan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a great salad. I took it to a friends house and they loved it. Easy to make and ingredients are easy to find in any grocery. The dressing had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I love this salad recipe. I've made it three times in the last two weeks and each time, there is nothing left at the bottom of the salad bowl. I made the dressing as the recipe recommends, but used feta cheese and honey crisp apples in the salad. I will be making this salad for Thanksgiving dinner. I love the salad almost as much as I love my beloved Buckeyes. GO BUCKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Perfect fall salad. Makes lots more dressing than you need for the salad. I left out the teaspoon of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Go Michigan State-beat Ohio State and Michigan! Made this as a salad in a mason jar for a friend recovering from surgery. Put the dressing in the bottom, then added the apples, cherries, pecans and goat cheese. Filled to the top with romaine lettuce. Screw on the lid. It kept very well in the fridge for about 5 days. I did put lemon juice over the apples before putting them in the jar. When you are ready to eat it just shake it up and eat out of the jar or pour onto a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this for a potluck and only used two heads of lettuce (large heads) and added a little extra cherries and pecans. I used pink lady apples instead of granny smith and canola oil instead of vegetable. I didn't add any salt or pepper to the dressing and I didn't toss any dressing with the salad for fear that if it didn't all get eaten it would wilt the salad. Well, most people didn't add the dressing and loved it without it. People were scraping the bowl to try to get the last little bit of salad out. Michiganders love the salad! Now I'll have to make a "Eat Ohio Salad" which will consist of New Riegel hot dogs and corn! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Love it! I used feta cheese and plain pecans instead and was wonderful. Did not blend the dressing and it came out fine. Also used canola oil instead of veg. oil. Will definitely make again whether football season or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is so, so good!! Just made it for a family gathering and everyone was so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Oh yum, yum, YUM! One of the best salads I've ever had. Even husband liked it, and he's not a big one for sweet in salad. Or salad, period, for that matter. But he ate all but 3 cherries. I think that the tanginess of the goat cheese and the tartness of the cherries more than compensated for the sweetness of the nuts and maple syrup. The dressing by itself is fantastic. I used the Sugared Pecans recipe on this site, and they were to die for, too! The only change I made was to use a Pink Lady apple because I didn't have any Granny Smith's, and I was just making it for husband and I. Will DEFINTELY make again (like, tomorrow!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Excellent! (Although a Michigan State fan living in Kentucky, I thought it was appropriate =:)) So glad we tried it. Made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. My mom specifically called and requested that I bring this for our Easter meal! Perfect anytime of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great salad! I made the dressing with less oil and light mayonnaise to make it a bit healthier. Didn't have dried cherries so used dried cranberries and it was delicious. Both me and the other half love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELOLO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! What a great, refreshing salad! Never tried goat cheese before - it added a great texture and I got one on sale that was cinnamon and cranberry flavored! Mmmm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States