Eat Michigan Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The only thing I did differently was to use a bag of 1/2 spinach 1/2 field greens. Made for a shower and everyone loved it. I rarely follow the recipes on this site 100% and rarely give 5 stars but this deserves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great salad and super easy to make! I left out the cheese and pecans and it was still delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Make this salad all the time for office potlucks, parties and tailgates. I am ALWAYS asked for the recipe. THe dressing recipe yields quite a bit of dressing. I usually half it for the salad...but that's the only change I make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
So fab! I had altered down the recipe and used my gizmo salad mixer (xmas gift) because I knew the blender won't work for that small amount. The only changes I made was to use rice wine vinegar, all I had, craisins pomegranate, and used canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Amazingly good! The butter lettuce blends so well with the other ingredients. The dressing is delicious too. (Just use sparingly. A little goes a long way.) I use the allrecipes website often, but rarely leave a review. This one deserves every star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
So, I used to live in MI and now am back in WA. My family ALWAYS asks me to bring the salad for the holiday meals so I always look at Allrecipes.com to find something different and yummy. This was it this year! As a matter of fact, my large family pronounced this the permanent Christmas salad. They all loved it! Thanks for being rivals with the Wolverines Saveur631, or I probably wouldn't have looked twice at a "Buckeye Salad"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a great salad. I took it to a friends house and they loved it. Easy to make and ingredients are easy to find in any grocery. The dressing had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I love this salad recipe. I've made it three times in the last two weeks and each time, there is nothing left at the bottom of the salad bowl. I made the dressing as the recipe recommends, but used feta cheese and honey crisp apples in the salad. I will be making this salad for Thanksgiving dinner. I love the salad almost as much as I love my beloved Buckeyes. GO BUCKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Perfect fall salad. Makes lots more dressing than you need for the salad. I left out the teaspoon of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Go Michigan State-beat Ohio State and Michigan! Made this as a salad in a mason jar for a friend recovering from surgery. Put the dressing in the bottom, then added the apples, cherries, pecans and goat cheese. Filled to the top with romaine lettuce. Screw on the lid. It kept very well in the fridge for about 5 days. I did put lemon juice over the apples before putting them in the jar. When you are ready to eat it just shake it up and eat out of the jar or pour onto a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this for a potluck and only used two heads of lettuce (large heads) and added a little extra cherries and pecans. I used pink lady apples instead of granny smith and canola oil instead of vegetable. I didn't add any salt or pepper to the dressing and I didn't toss any dressing with the salad for fear that if it didn't all get eaten it would wilt the salad. Well, most people didn't add the dressing and loved it without it. People were scraping the bowl to try to get the last little bit of salad out. Michiganders love the salad! Now I'll have to make a "Eat Ohio Salad" which will consist of New Riegel hot dogs and corn! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States