Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
My husband is STILL raving about this recipe weeks later. So simple yet flavorful, and the filets were a perfect medium. I have attempted to cook filet several times before but never was it this good. This recipe yielded restaurant quality results. Thank you so much for sharing. And if at 14 you are already this good I cant wait until you have honed your skills. You may be the next Bobby Flay :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
823 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JackiW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
We made these filets for dinner today and fixed Garlic Baked Potatoes as a side (also found on allrecipes.com). We grilled them instead of broiling them and they turned out great. One thing we didn’t like was the shallots. We thought they were a bit too strong and overpowering. Next time I will just sauté mushrooms and onions to serve with the filets. My husband also thought using butter instead of olive oil would be very good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
676 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This turned out exceptional on the first attempt! Make sure that you get yourself the top quality cut of meat. I served this for my fiance on Valentine's Day along with grilled shrimp and sauteed asparagus. Those recipes can be found here on allrecipes.com-- Ron's Grilled Shrimp Pan-Fried Asparagus Wonderful filet recipe! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
565 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eonstot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
It's a very simple and easy recipe. Whoever rated this as a 1 star cannot follow simple instructions. My steak came out the way my husband & I wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
So, so simple and even my picky eater loved it! And for anyone else trying this recipe... I didn't use filet mignon, but a similar cut of meat and was out of onion powder and used garlic powder (my family likes garlic better anyway). My local grocery store didn't have shallots. I used green onions. Sprinkled some of the onions on the meat, sauteed the rest of the stalks with mushrooms and added on top after taking out of the oven. This was so easy to do. Meat was tender, flavorful. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very "easy" and I guess you could say there's nothing more "romantic" than a nice filet mignon when it comes to a cozy dinner for two. I did however do these a bit differently - I rubbed these with a bit of olive oil but left off the onion powder and chose to use a little minced garlic and kosher salt. I let these come to room temperature and grilled them. It doesn't get any easier or any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I made these from a tenderloin that I had cut up. Other than omitting the shallots, I didn't change anything else. This recipe works really well with a good smoked bacon (applewood is my fav). Good job on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Way to go "Chef in the making". I think it is wonderful that you are learning to cook. Very good flavor! Pairs nicely with carmelized onion mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
It was very good. I'm not a great cook, so I can appreciate simple yet tasty recipes. Thanks a lot chef in the making! My family loved your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
It's a great recipie!! The steaks came out tender and very flavorful. Thank you! I didn't use the onion powder because I didn't have it, but it was so good! As for the reviewers who think they might use butter for this? The reason you shouldn't is that oil has a much higher resistence to burning in high heat (close to the broiler) than olive oil does. If you really want butter on your meat then melt some after and pour it on. If you cook with it, the meat will tend to burn on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States