Easy Whole Wheat Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This recipe was great and easy. I followed recommendations from others and added old fashioned oats, put the mix in the fridge for an hour to firm up, and used a teaspoon to measure the mini cookies. Couldn't even tell it was whole wheat flower or honey instead of sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I'm type 2 so I've been looking for a healthier cookie recipe for when the craving gets too much to ignore ;) This is it! I made these last night and foolishly followed some other reviewers suggestions by cutting the honey in half and adding another 1/4 cup of w/w flour to make the dough more manageable. BIG MISTAKE! they tasted bland and the extra flour ruined them, making them so flaky and brittle that you couldn't even pick them up. Threw them all away after two cookies. Then I tackled this recipe again today and did it exactly as is except I also used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend in place of regular brown sugar, and it came out 1000 times better. I had friends over for dinner and they said they couldn't tell the difference between these and regular peanut butter cookies. So why 4 stars? Because I can tell the difference ;) But truly is an AWESOME, healthy, alternative to the fatty, carb filled, evil twin! Amazing for a whole wheat cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JonnyTexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These cookies are GREAT! I didn't have to add anything else like many of the other reviews suggested. Did the recipe just like it was stated and came out perfectly. I especially appreciated that they weren't overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
These were delicious. The taste reminded me of a peanut butter and honey sandwich. I only gave it 4 stars because the dough was sticky, even after refrigerating it overnight. I used natural peanut butter for the cookies. Next time I plan to omit the butter entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I did add a cup of oats as others suggested. These were a big hit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
After reading everyone else's review I tried this recipe. I did as the recipe stated, but added 1/2 more of the whole wheat flour and the consistency was great. I also added the salt as mentioned. I find this to be a recipe I can change a little more by using Splenda brown sugar to make a cookie recipe for a diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerrod13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I would not make these again. Very wet dough. We still ate a lot of them. If you are looking for a better alternative to traditional peanut butter cookies go with this. But my suggestion is take in a few more calories and go all out. It is very hard to make a cookie taste good and be nutritious at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
i thought these were good...a lot easier than the way i usually make peanut butter cookies-and healthier. my husband loves peanut butter cookies and thought these were great. i added some flax meal and rolled in sugar before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
A very good whole wheat cookie. Just be careful- they burn easily. They turned out better on a stone then a metal pan. I used my medium scoop because the dough was too sticky to roll into balls and I sprayed a fork with cooking spray to make the criss cross pattern. Very tasty. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
These are delicious cookies! I did add dark chocolate chips and oats, as well as substituting splenda blend brown sugar for regular brown sugar. Next time, I will cut back on the sweetness slightly. Overall, I love these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States