Easy Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Perfect 1 pound whole wheat loaf. I used AP flour instead of the bread flour, and whole wheat pastry flour instead of the whole wheat flour. We live at 4600 ft. so I add an additional 2 tbsp. of water and used slightly less than 1 tsp. yeast to keep the loaf from falling. The result was a very light and airy bread. Will definitely use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
A nice light loaf. Best whole wheat recipe I've used yet. I added 4tsp of vital wheat gluten, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by registered99

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Finally! I did it! I made a whole wheat bread that came out correctly. Thanks to the poster of this recipe. I didn't use my breadmaker as it's broken, so I kneaded it in my Kitchenaid Mixer w/the kneading attachment. First for 8 minutes, let rise for 50mins, then knead again for 8 minutes and let rise for 30mins, then cut and shape into 3 pieces and let rise again with a wet towel for 20mins. Stuck it into a preheated 375 oven for 20 minutes. Voila!! Perfect small baguettes for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
the is by far the best recipe for bread machine. i was scared that the loaf will be too big for my small machine but it was just perfect. i did however make some changes i used 10 g of sugar and i added some dried herbs thyme , oregano and basil for extra flavouring. i really reccomend this recipe .. oh also i didnt need to add extra flour or water. i am sure this will be a keeper (^ ^)b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This was my 2nd loaf of bread and I love it! My dh and 22 mt old love it as well. I will definitely be making it again. I love the smaller loaf. It makes it so much easier to cut and get thinner slices. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was fantastic!!! Ok, I didn't use the egg powder (it grosses me out) and I used 1 pkg. of rapid yeast. They are so light and with a perfect texture. I shaped them into 6 large rolls and they're the perfect size for sandwiches.Also, I cover them with a dish towle after they come out of the oven to keep the crust soft. I'm makeing another batch for tonights BBQ and shaping them into hot dog and hamburger rolls. I just added more oil, water and flour to the recipe but not more yeast. We'll see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
it made a small but good loaf. i added 1 tbsp of vital wheat gluten, it probably made it an even 'lighter' loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
Very easy to make, but it made a really small loaf of bread. Definitely excellent for those on a diet. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States