Easy Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
My 13-month-old daughter has had major issues with gaining weight, so I decided to make some whole wheat bread since it has more calories in it then the airy loaves in the store. This recipe is DELICIOUS!! I didn't have honey on hand, so I tried my luck on this recipe and am glad. I also didn't add the powdered egg, and I put my bread machine on rapid cycle so it would be ready faster. Make sure you check the dough a minute in like it suggests--I had to add about 2 tbsp of water. The bread is ooey, gooey, and OH SO GOOD! It'll be hard to save it for my daughter instead of eating it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybeth1583

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Littleton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Came out great but small. I doubled the quantities to get a loaf that held through the day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy K.
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Delicious loaf of bread; however, it came out small. I may try doubling next time. Definitely a keeper nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Pretty good, I used a real egg and then 3/4 cup of water minus the volume of the egg (if that makes sense). Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
With equal parts of while and whole wheat flour, this is definitely mislabeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This is a good recipe for sandwich bread and toast. I have made it many times now as we use our bread machine weekly to make bread for our lunch sandwiches. I do not add the optional egg mix, I use olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Bruenger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This makes verrrrry yummy and nutritious bread. I did not use the egg powder because I didnt have any, and I used shortening instead of the veggie oil. For the flour, I used half all purpose, half whole wheat bread flour. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was truly easy and tasty. Did not use the egg substitute (didn't have any) and used 1 1/4 tspn active dry yeast (didn't have rapid rise) and it turned out light yet with a firm texture. My little one's ate is straight out of the breadmaker! And went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Stalking Pomp: This is very easy to mix up. It did take awhile to raise. I did not get the light and airy bread others got but it was still good. I used "White Whole Wheat" (that way the kid does not know) hehe... I will make this again, I might try just a bit more yeast and double it so I get a larger loaf of bread. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I had to make this twice because the dog grabbed the first loaf. So, I tried again. I used the breadmaker to make the dough then took it out and baked at 350 for about 35 minutes. I didn't use the egg substitute--didn't have any--and had to add about 1/2 c flour to the mix. It turned out a very light whole wheat loaf with good flavor. I didn't use wheat gluten and didn't really need any, although it did take a while to rise. Still, with patience this makes a very light loaf. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States