Easy White Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by steph
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe and make it all of the time! I do add cardamom to it which adds a great full spicy taste. I also use canned green chile to thicken it. I made it tonight and added garbanzo beans. It's so easy and so delicious! Play with it and have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
One of our favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I was looking for a recipe as a base for making a BIG pot for a repasse, and this was good for starters. I'm one of those creative type that enjoys adding 'other' things for bulk. Precooked 16 oz of mixed bean soup. Then added in cooked 3 whole chickens, and added just the meat. 1 large onion, 5 stalks of celery, a few cut up red potatoes (great way to clear out your fridge) Added 1 16 oz Goya Cilantro base, 3 Bay leaves, 2 1/2 TBS of Cumin, Oregano, 1 or more TBS of ADOBO all purpose seasoning to taste. Can of Rotell chilis AND two cans of cream corn. 1 can of Fiesta Nacho Cheese by Campbell (would have added two) Another idea - if you have it on hand - cream cheese as a thickener. I would avoid cornstarch OR flour as it detracts from the taste. So far, it tastes awesome! Give it another day to mellow the flavors, and I bet it will go over very well :-) Juliana in South Jersey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was so tasty! My boys loved it and so did I. I did as other reviewers suggested and put two of the cans of beans in the blender to help thicken it up. I also added only 1 can of the green peppers to keep the spice level down for my younger son. We put a dollop of sour cream on top and also added some freshly ground pepper to my bowl. Will definitely keep this recipe for future meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Very good and easy to make! I used rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I didn't care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Great recipe, just substitute boxed organic chicken stock for the broth - commercially prepared broth makes it a little too salty, and some of them have msg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Whalen Tarditi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Big hit at the pot luck. I doubled the recipe. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is almost the exact same recipe I've been making for 20 years, except it calls for more broth & more cayenne than my old recipe. I definitely enjoy the little extra kick. I simmer the chicken in the broth until tender, then shred it. Then add all ingredients & simmer until desired consistency. I don't mush the beans like others, I prefer mine whole. I have thickened it with cornmeal, but usually just let the chili simmer until it has thickened on its own. If I don't have enough chicken stock, I've made it with half stock & half beer, which is also good. I melt about 1 to 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese in the pot before serving, then crumble a piece of cornbread in a bowl, spoon up the chili, top with a little more cheese, a dollop of sour cream, & some sliced black olives - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I made some alterations based on other's suggestions & this was great! My fiance loves it and is excited for us to make it again! Changes: 1 onion instead of 2, 3 jalepinos instead of the canned peppers, 2 cans of chicken broth instead of 3, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes instead of the cayane pepper (what I had), added some salt and pepper and blended 2 of the 5 cans of beans in the blender with some white wine & olive oil. I also added a couple cups of fresh spinach because we like spinach. To cook up the chicken, I poached it with a mixture of chicken broth, white wine, bay leaf, pepper & majoriam and then shredded it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States