Easy Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this tonight to top "Banana Cream Pie Made Easy" from this site. I screwed it up but still tasted fantastic!! I was in a hurry and tried to follow some of what I read in the reviews. I cut the sour cream back to 1/4c, used 1c of heavy cream (it was already in the bowl LOL!) and used 1/2c of confectioner's sugar!! Best pie I ever made and my company loved it too!! I guess the sour cream toned down the sweetness of the sugar. Next time I'll I won't get so carried away when I get baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The sour cream is what separates this whipped cream from store bought. It makes it tangy. However, it's a bit too tangy. I'd recommend cutting the amount of sour cream in half, or, if you want something like store-bought, omit it entirely and add a small pinch of sea salt to counteract the sweetness. Very good recipe! I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Made this for Strawberry Shortcakes and it was WONDERFUL! Creamy goodness! :) Will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I used this on a strawberry shortcake recipe and it was quick and easy to make. I did not measure it but it did seem to make more than the 1.5 cups. Also, I did not have an electric mixer but was still able to achieve the right consistency just using a fork! It went over extremely well and everyone raved about it. Much better tasting than store bought whipped cream worth the extra ten minutes it took to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica joyce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I reduced the sour cream slightly based on previous reviews - hubby's first words after first taste: "we're never buying it in a can again."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
1st time I made this, I followed the recipe. 2nd time, I reduced the amount of sour cream. Was very good, but a little too much for us. I put the bowl in the freezer for a few minutes prior to making. Will increase the vanilla next time. Great recipe and easy to modify based on your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used this recipe for my 2nd attempt at home made whipped cream (I didn't LOVE the results the first time I made a different recipe). This is spot on. The sour cream makes all the difference in the world. This has a delightful flavor and consistency. I did reduce the sour cream by 1/2, as I was afraid of too much *tang* and I"m glad I did. It was perfect. I chilled my bowl and beaters about 30 minutes before whipping. THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I really liked it, plus it was easy. My boyfriend still prefers store bought, so we're split. This wasn't as sweet as store bought, I think that's where he was hung up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbest
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I thought this was very good and very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missz174
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This has to be the easiest thing I have ever made. Very light and lots of flavor. I used the advice of the the other reviews and used 1/4 c. sour cream and 1/3 c. confectioners sugar. I put my metal bowl and paddles in the freezer (while I got my ingredients together). I had no problem whipping it into peaks. Hold your mixer straight up and move your bowl in circles instead of moving the mixer. It creates a smooth and even mixing motion that allows for smooth and even texture. Just my personal experience. No more Cool Whip for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States