Easy Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
All I could taste was the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonjovi47
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong. I used a Kitchenaid mixer and tried the recipe twice, but both times they never made the stiff peaks I was looking for. I swear I mixed it on high for at least 10 minutes each "try," but neither time it worked. However, it still tasted great w/ the strawberry shortcake I was making. Just had to think of it as a decadent cream, and not the fluffy whipped topping I was hoping for. I also added a little more confectioners' sugar (1/3 c) and a squeeze of lemon juice. The taste was a little different - I liked it but my husband thought it tasted a little strange...didn't like the sour cream part. Not sure if I'll try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe was A-MAAAAAZING!!! It was such a light, refreshing taste! Oh yea, it surprisingly had a cheesecake flavor too! I made a substitute with the vanilla. I used real vanilla beans; it gave it that Breyers vanilla ice cream look lol(YUM!). I've also doubled the recipe for 2 strawberry banana cream pies. Now that I know how to make whipped cream AND how simple it is to make, I have NO reason to buy that canned stuff again!! One more thing...I whipped it a bit longer than suggested (abt 7-8 min). I wanted it to be extra fluffy and it was! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AYENDA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Great recipe! The sour cream adds a nice tanginess and creaminess to it. fI have aforever made whipped cream using just the mixer and the cream, vanilla and white granulated sugar, but will always use this recipe now. LITTLE TIP: squeeze in just a little fresh lemon juice. That gives a nice zing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Chilled metal mixing bowl and beaters for 30 min. in the freezer, halved the sour cream and NO WAY AM I EVER USING STORE BOUGHT AGAIN! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This whipped cream is very flavorful! Much more so than store bought, and with a better consistancy. You can definately taste that there is sour cream in there though, so you might want to play with the proportions to get it to your liking. But made as-is my sister said it tasted like cheesecake- so it's good in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I followed the suggestion of others and cut the sour cream back to 1/4c. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lhampton
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very yummy and a nice change of pace from regular whipped cream. Tart, yet sweet, plus a creamy and dense texture. This won't replace regular whipped cream, but will be nice to have as an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very creamy...not overly sweet...used it over angel food cake & fresh Strawberries...My almost 2 yr old Granddaughter said...Nuyummmm Gma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Think of this as gourmet Cool Whip. I made it to top a sweet potato pie and everyone liked it. It was still stable in the morning and I ended up eating the rest for breakfast (no pie, just the cream!). The first time I made this I did follow others suggestions and used 1/4 cup sour cream and 3/4 cup heavy cream. I upped the powdered sugar to 1/3 cup because some mentioned it wasn't very sweet. I usually don't modify recipes the first time I try them but I was feeding someone who typically doesn't care for sour cream and I was unsure how strong the original recipe would be. The second time I followed the recipe exactly (except for 1/3 cup powdered sugar, not a major change) and it was still delicious with just a slight tang reminiscent of cheesecake. If you don't tell anyone there's sour cream in this I doubt anyone would ever guess. I never had a problem getting it to stiff peaks with a deep, chilled bowl and whisk and my stand up mixer. It didn't take any longer to whip than just whipping cream would take. I can't wait to try this on apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States