Easy Welsh Rarebit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Grew up with this recipe on Sunday evenings served on saltine crackers. Not a TRUE welsh rarebit, but brought smiles and memories,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'd rather give this a 2.5 stars. First of all, I had to make 16 servings, and followed the recalculated recipe. As many reviewers said, the beer seemed to overpower the cheese (and I used Miller High Life, less than the recipe called for), but after I added the Worcestershire and pepper (I substituted Chipotle because I didn't have cayenne), the flavors blended much better. My biggest disappointment with this recipe is that it was VERY soupy, literally, more like soup than Rarebit. When poured over anything it immediately soaked in and spread all over the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
horrible. This is nothing like welsh rarebit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
sorry, but this recipe tasted like i was dipping my bread in warm beer- it overpowered everything! It was probably my fault- we used Harp which is a pretty strong beer (its all we had around), so Im sure it would be better with a lighter beer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I really wanted to like this recipe. I was craving Welsh Rarebit and didn't feel like dragging out Joy of Cooking and the double boiler. I bought the famous red and white can of Cheddar Cheese Soup (I should know better, canned soup recipes never work for me) and made the recipe as written. It didn't taste good. I added more beer, more worchestershire sauce, still not good. I put in more cayenne, some grated extra sharp cheddar and still no. The cheese soup seemed to swallow everything I put in it and kill the flavors. Finally, I put in some garlic powder and some dijon mustard and that made it taste not so bad (but not like Welsh Rarebit). I put some on toast with LOTS of grated extra sharp cheddar and broiled it until bubbly. I ate it, but next time I'll stick with J of C and the double boiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
As personal preference, we grated even more cheddar cheese over the top once the rarebit was on toast, and it turned out quite well! Our only problem with it was that it was just a little bit salty...otherwise no complaints, and we followed as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly but really didn't care for this. The taste of the beer overwhelmed everything else. Next time I'll make fondue with real cheddar, which is much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
THIS IS GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
If you like cheese, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States