Easy Weeknight Tuna Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Very good, we all enjoyed it, including husband and 3 daughters! I only gave it 4 stars because I had to make some substitutions based on what was on hand and what my family likes. I swapped the butter for an equal amount of olive oil. I replaced onions with onion powder because hubby won't eat them, and added a little bit of garlic powder, black pepper, and parsley. I only had frozen broccoli so I used that, and it definitely could have taken more veggies. I only had a 4 oz can of crescent rolls and that was PLENTY. I flattened three of the rolls with my fingers and laid them evenly over the top, then tore up the last one to cover the gaps, and that was enough to cover the top entirely. With the dough pressed thin, 11 minutes was exactly right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This turned out really good for us. Very easy and inexpensive to make, which is always nice. This recipe is very versatile so you can change out ingredients to make it how you like. I think it would be really good with chicken instead of tuna, or if you don't like certain vegetables then leave something out and add a different one in. My husband and I both really liked it, my two year old had two helpings, and my five year old was the hard one to please tonight, but he ate it. I'm sure I will be making this one again soon. Thank you for the recipe, MISWOODS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
We added fresh mushrooms and garlic. Also added 1 cup of cheese instead of half cup. I would love to learn a homemade dough topping so I don't have to buy the processed crescent rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. It was quick and tasty. The only thing I did different was I added a thin layer of shredded velveeta cheese between the rolls and the tuna mixture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piketon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waverly, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
used a pie crust bottom instead of crescent rolls and green beans as we don't like peas...picky children ate it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amjoy373

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Followed recipe to a T and it came out great I cooked it for 15 minutes, it was still a little doughy, so I put it in on broil for another 4 minutes and it was perfectly done after that! Family loved it and asked for it to be on our reg menu! 5 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This is so good we have it every week. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I wanted to love this recipe. I was excited to finally have a tuna casserole without noodles. But this fell far short. Extremely bland and the ratio of crescent roll topping to filling is WAY off. I would've had to at least triple the filling amount in order for the topping to be balanced with it. Made as directed, tasted filling prior to baking, no taste really. Added garlic powder, kosher salt, cracked black pepper, parsley. Helped some but it would have had to have been put in the mix originally, not as an afterthought. Might make again with many tweaks but sorry, this did not work for us. :( I did note that many of the 4-5 star ratings were only after people amended the original recipe and instructions. That's not really fair. You need to rate based on the original, then you should offer your modifications and what the rating "could" have been. Just my 2 cents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I did make my own "cream of mushroom soup", with just a cup of milk, some vegetable stock, and corn starch, which I poured into a pan of sauteed mushrooms and whisked until thickened. Also, I'd like to mention that gently FOLDING the tuna in is important so it doesn't all go to mush. I also used a pre-baked pie shell, and substituted Parm for the Cheddar. I guess to that end I didn't completely follow the directions, but rather used them as a guide. I've never made a savory pie before, so I was delighted this was quite a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Steen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helsingborg, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
It was okay...not nearly as good as I thought it would be. The crescents didn't cook all the way through with the suggested time so I baked the recipe for 10 extra minutes. I think canned chicken or fresh cooked chicken breast would be better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States